We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to Hampton Inn and Portland Me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We celebrated our 11th Anniversary together at the Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront on January 4th, 2014 and had another great time. The hotel upgraded us to an ocean view room that was really nice. The staff and parking valets are always so helpful and friendly. We were able to walk downtown to shop and eat, and also took advantage of the adjacent Sebago Brewing Company restaurant. The complimentary breakfast was very complete and good. We also used the pool. Have to say they have the most comfortable beds in the world. Thank you Hampton Inn for another great trip ... hope we can afford to stay during the summer on one of our visits to Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

A recent one night visit with two small children was less than satisfying
On the two beds was a post it stating "linens are clean". I would never expect that not to be the case
Upon putting kids to bed found a beer cap on the floor - very unsettling
The breakfast was customary " free breakfast included" The staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful and location ideal with valet parking
When I contacted hotel with my concerns they where very receptive and pleasant

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamillaR892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located in downtown Portland, everything is within walking distance. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and quiet. Parking on site was a little weird - valets had to bring the car to you even though there were only like 30 cars. Other than that, pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWandJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed one night, NYE 2013. We chose this hotel because we found a good price (booked early) for the holiday when other hotels were nearly double. The hotels is in a perfect location for the Old Port. Valet parking was $15, but I checked prices for overnight parking in two other neighborhood lots and they were around $30. Staff at check in were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Our room was spacious and extremely clean, with two comfortable double beds, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and big bathroom. Sheets and towels were clean and the beds had duvets that are washed for every guest (yay!). Free Wifi worked well and good choice of TV channels. Hallways and public areas were modern and well kept. The indoor pool is small but clean, with a shower and plenty of towels. There is an all day free coffee bar with a choice of coffees, teas and hot chocolate. The free breakfast was very good; better than I expected with a choice of omelets, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, fresh cut fruit and the usual cereal, pastries, breads, yogurt, etc. The hotels is very close to several excellent restaurants: Duckfat, Eventide, Hugo's and Fore St. There is a pub restaurant in the hotel, but we did not go there. Our stay in this hotel was perfect, except that it was too short!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here last weekend while attending a concert in Portland. The hotel is very clean, modern and well located. Free breakfast, coffee and shuttle rides until 10pm are among their great amenities. The desk and housekeeping were helpful and attentive. The only compliant I have is no mention of the valet parking charge until I checked out Sunday morning and received the 30$ Bill for two nights.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Hmarshall03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

It was my first time in Portland and what a wonderful experience! We checked into the Hampton Inn on a Sunday afternoon, and we left on New Year's Day. Our hotel room was big and spacious and the staff were exceptional. They answered all of the questions that we had and helped in any way possible. There is a fitness center which is open 24 hours for hotel guests.

I was going to give this hotel 4.5 stars because of the valet charge ($15/night) however it was more than worth it. Because we staying during the winter, we didn't have to worry about parking, warming up the car, or having to clean it off. It was extremely helpful to have the valet staff make sure our car was ready when we wanted to leave. It was fantastic!

I would highly recommend staying here when staying in Portland. It is in a perfect location and walking distance from downtown and all of the shopping areas.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked a total of 4 rooms at this hotel for the 31st of December to spend a night in Portland, ME for New Years Eve hoping we'd get away from the same old Boston scene only to find major deficiencies with the hotel staff. While the hotel is centrally located and has good amenities, the staff is not trained according to the standards defined by "AAA Tourism" and displayed a major lack of knowledge in dealing with sticky situations. One member of our group was inebriated to a point that she was aggressive and pushing to go out into the cold/weary conditions without advice. At this point, we'd hope that the hotel would be helpful in resolving the situation, whereas the staff asked all the 4 rooms to be evicted because we were trying to protect this person from venturing out in the cold. We've all been there where excessive abuse of alcohol can lead to unintended consequences but to aggressively force all of the guests registered that have a relationship with this person to evict is ridiculous. Luckily the General Manager intervened with a sense of practicality but the staff has a serious deficiency in dealing with guests. They are not polite or intelligent to understand the context and jump to conclusions. This left a very bad taste for all the guests and certainly caste a web of disappointment in the Hampton Inn Chain as a whole. While we'll be taking this particular situation up with Corporate and pursuing any and all legal actions, I feel as guest we were striped of basic human decency and guest privileges. This may very well be an isolated incidence but its one that dictates an appropriate response. I'll update this post with the result of any legal action that is taken against the staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDubai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for New Year's. I regret the issue your group experienced, and I can assure you we take situations like this very seriously and are investigating it. We will do everything we can to help you and will be in touch. If we may be of any additional assistance in the mean time, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Thank you,

Peter C. Wagner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £76 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing