We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Portland, ME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Portland, ME”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Excellent, clean hotel. Walking distance to restaurants, waterfront, shops, micro-brewries. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast had surprising variety and everything was delicious. Brown bag breakfast available if you didn't have time for full meal. Bed had waterview which was beautiful! Will definitely stay again! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    448
    89
    23
    11
See reviews for
377
661
46
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Yes, it's a chain. But, the hotel is lovely and is located a block from the waterfront in the beautiful Old Port section of Portland. Many rooms have views of Casco Bay. Just a block or two from the main commercial strip Exchange Street, and right down the street from one of the best comic-book stores in the world--Casablanca Comics! The hotel is also surrounded by great cafés and restaurants. The public areas and rooms are very well-maintained and the hotel looks brand-spanking new on the inside. Staff is super-friendly. Brooke was incredibly nice and helpful and, when she heard us discussing our sugar cravings, directed us to two of the best baked-good joints in the neighborhood: Two Fat Cats & The Holy Donut! Excellent recommendations! I'm still in a sugar-coma. Free and abundant breakfast & valet parking too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great hotel located in the center of downtown; within walking distance to most everything. Hotel was clean and updated; staff was very helpful and friendly. Great complimentary breakfast provided, not just muffins/bagels etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocky hill, CT USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visit Portland often, this was our first time here. Very nice! Front desk and valet staff open and friendly. Check in was quick and no problems.
The room was white glove clean, and the decor and furniture nice comfortable and modern. We had a room facing the newer ferry terminal, and could watch the boats on Casco Bay, nice enough!
Breakfast was good, nothing spectacular, but tasty and a decent selection. Sebago Brew pub is on the first floor, so that is nice!
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your recent stay in Portland. Our Housekeeping staff will be thrilled with your comment about the room being "white glove clean".

Please come visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We often visit the Portland area and have typically chosen to stay in Freeport. We were travelling home from Boston via train and decided to stay in downtown Portland as an alternative to the Freeport "shopping style" stay. We arrived early evening and it was our 6th day of travelling with our teenage kids. We asked if they had a "large" room and a cot when we arrived. We were absolutely delighted with the room (324) and it had lots of space for a cot and for all of us to spread out. We had supper at the Sebago Brewery Restaurant in the hotel (which they gave us a 10% off coupon for) and the food and service was excellent. The breakfast area was spotless and it was warmed up by a lovely fireplace. We were able to get on the running trail and had an excellent run around the bay (~6miles). A great spot for the family and to enjoy the more historic parts of Portland and enjoy a great run. The service was excellent, the hotel was spotless, and the location was perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: We asked for a larger room, as a family of 4 with 2 teenagers, space helps. We had room 324 and foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words concerning your recent visit with us. Especially appreciate the comment we have a helpful staff. Please come see us again the next time Portland is on your travel plans.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The Hampton Inn in Portland is a great place to stay. Right in the heart of the Old Port. We were coming up to enjoy a birthday dinner at Fore Street and were looking for a nearby place to stay. The Hampton Inn is very clean. Nice room with a view of the harbor. It was an added bonus that Sebago Brewery is in the lobby. They make some nice beers! They do not let you take a glass of beer back to your room, but they are happy to sell bottles to take upstairs. They have a nice menu as well. Pool and fitness center are your average hotel style offerings. They offer a free breakfast and parking is valet at $15/day which seems a little steep but seems to be the norm here in Portland now.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We appreciate that we were part of your visit to Portland. Dinner at Fore Street? Nice!

Please come visit us again soon. We would be honored to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stay in Portland on a regular basis to visit my boyfriend. Usually I stay in one of the many wonderful b&b in the area but they were all booked so I was forced to choose a major chain hotel. I decided on Hampton downtown because of the location and somewhat reasonable price. When I booked over the phone I made a point to ask if I would be charged immediately or after checkout and explained that my card didn't have enough, they assured me I was all set and could switch the card to my boyfriends before checkout. I arrived after my long drive ready to take a shower and relax until my boyfriends shift ended. Well wouldn't you know they need to put a hold on the card at check in for the full amount. This contradicted what I was told initially and the woman refused to check me in. I explained the miscommunication to her and asked if I could speak to someone that could override this. She says "hold on" curtly and I sit down to wait. A good 20 minutes later I'm still sitting there and she is pretending I don't exist. I ask if anyone was coming and she then informs me there are no managers on site but they would "say the same thing anyway". Well, thanks mentioning that after I wasted my time waiting. You would think customer satisfaction would mean a bit more to the company than that. I recommend booking in advance and staying at a owner run b&b where service actually means something.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkileigh043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I apologize to you for the misunderstanding about our check-in requirements and especially that you had to wait in our lobby for an extended period of time. I can assure you we do care greatly about customer service and work very hard at exceeding the expectations of our guests. Unfortunately, we did not even meet your expectations and I do apologize for your inconvenience.

We do require a form of payment from our guests at check-in. Once that form of payment is presented to us we varify that there are sufficient funds to cover the anticipated charges and a hold on that amount takes place. A guest can change the form of payment he or she wants to use at any time. If a guest does elect to present us with an alternate form of payment the hold on the original form of payment will drop from his or her original account.

Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing