We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for either business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn on Fore Street in Portland to attend the Maine Boat Builder's Show. The staff was friendly, rooms set up nice, clean, and comfortable. Business center was helpful and available. Complimentary breakfast was a good variety, fresh, and easy. Valet/shuttle service was awesome. Perfect location...easy to walk around downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Excellent, clean hotel. Walking distance to restaurants, waterfront, shops, micro-brewries. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast had surprising variety and everything was delicious. Brown bag breakfast available if you didn't have time for full meal. Bed had waterview which was beautiful! Will definitely stay again! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Yes, it's a chain. But, the hotel is lovely and is located a block from the waterfront in the beautiful Old Port section of Portland. Many rooms have views of Casco Bay. Just a block or two from the main commercial strip Exchange Street, and right down the street from one of the best comic-book stores in the world--Casablanca Comics! The hotel is also surrounded by great cafés and restaurants. The public areas and rooms are very well-maintained and the hotel looks brand-spanking new on the inside. Staff is super-friendly. Brooke was incredibly nice and helpful and, when she heard us discussing our sugar cravings, directed us to two of the best baked-good joints in the neighborhood: Two Fat Cats & The Holy Donut! Excellent recommendations! I'm still in a sugar-coma. Free and abundant breakfast & valet parking too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great hotel located in the center of downtown; within walking distance to most everything. Hotel was clean and updated; staff was very helpful and friendly. Great complimentary breakfast provided, not just muffins/bagels etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visit Portland often, this was our first time here. Very nice! Front desk and valet staff open and friendly. Check in was quick and no problems.
The room was white glove clean, and the decor and furniture nice comfortable and modern. We had a room facing the newer ferry terminal, and could watch the boats on Casco Bay, nice enough!
Breakfast was good, nothing spectacular, but tasty and a decent selection. Sebago Brew pub is on the first floor, so that is nice!
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your recent stay in Portland. Our Housekeeping staff will be thrilled with your comment about the room being "white glove clean".

Please come visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We often visit the Portland area and have typically chosen to stay in Freeport. We were travelling home from Boston via train and decided to stay in downtown Portland as an alternative to the Freeport "shopping style" stay. We arrived early evening and it was our 6th day of travelling with our teenage kids. We asked if they had a "large" room and a cot when we arrived. We were absolutely delighted with the room (324) and it had lots of space for a cot and for all of us to spread out. We had supper at the Sebago Brewery Restaurant in the hotel (which they gave us a 10% off coupon for) and the food and service was excellent. The breakfast area was spotless and it was warmed up by a lovely fireplace. We were able to get on the running trail and had an excellent run around the bay (~6miles). A great spot for the family and to enjoy the more historic parts of Portland and enjoy a great run. The service was excellent, the hotel was spotless, and the location was perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: We asked for a larger room, as a family of 4 with 2 teenagers, space helps. We had room 324 and foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words concerning your recent visit with us. Especially appreciate the comment we have a helpful staff. Please come see us again the next time Portland is on your travel plans.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Hampton Inn in Portland is a great place to stay. Right in the heart of the Old Port. We were coming up to enjoy a birthday dinner at Fore Street and were looking for a nearby place to stay. The Hampton Inn is very clean. Nice room with a view of the harbor. It was an added bonus that Sebago Brewery is in the lobby. They make some nice beers! They do not let you take a glass of beer back to your room, but they are happy to sell bottles to take upstairs. They have a nice menu as well. Pool and fitness center are your average hotel style offerings. They offer a free breakfast and parking is valet at $15/day which seems a little steep but seems to be the norm here in Portland now.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We appreciate that we were part of your visit to Portland. Dinner at Fore Street? Nice!

Please come visit us again soon. We would be honored to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £87 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing