We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to Portland with a group of friends for a beer tour (which was great!) that picked up in the old port. This hotel was very convenient to stash the car and walk to the pick-up point (and virtually everywhere else downtown). The hotel had a complementary shuttle which we used to go over to the Great Lost Bear - a mile from downtown. Very clean room. Very firm bed, which my husband enjoyed but by the second night was giving me issues. Good breakfast included - eggs/bacon/waffles/pastries/cereal/coffee/juice. This is now our go to place to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

In the heart of Portland, within walking distance of many great restaurants, one street from the waterfront!! The room was fresh, love the down comforters, the view was great and the breakfast was wonderful!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank JoeKStaffordVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My first trip to Bath and I thought I'd enjoy Portland Harbor. So I reserved a Harbor View Room. Of course, that was extra. Harbor view??? Seriously? See photo. It's more of a brick wall view. The room was clean though and the restaurant downstairs is terrific bar food.

Room Tip: Don't opt for a "harbor view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwardvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location downtown. Close to some excellent restaurants. Staff for the most part is friendly even though I wasn't acknowledged as a Hilton Honors member. Parking at the hotel is by valet only. The valets are very attentive and friendly. Rooms are very nice and large. Excellent Value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bills8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had a great time in Portland, and the hotel was part of the deal. It was clean, service was friendly and fast, and the location is unbeatable. It's right by the water and nearby many wonderful restaurants and cafes (e.g. Bard, Duckfat, and Crema), which is unbeatable! Affordable hotel option too, compared to some of the alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel was clean, comfortable, renovated, new, right on the waterfront and the breakfast was varied with hot food and included in the price of the room. Staff were very nice. Not sure I'd pay the full fee in season but the rates we got for early April were well worth it. I just have a pet peeve about paying extra for parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for 5 nights for a conference I was attending in the area. The room was clean and well appointed. It is in the Old Port district that has amazing shops and restaurants all in walking distance. They served a nice breakfast, with a variety of foods. I used the shuttle to and from the conference to save on time trying to find parking.
I was very impressed with having linens, pillows, duvet that did not have odors from the previous occupant.
I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends and family that want to stay in portland.

Room Tip: did not hear slamming of doors of doors nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pophamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £85 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing