We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Very nicely appointed hotel. Pleasant staff. Very clean, and very up to date. Breakfast was also very good, not a big fan though of the pre-made omelets. Parking is pretty reasonable for downtown Portland too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gabe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    440
    85
    21
    11
See reviews for
371
651
45
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I used to stay at Hilton Garden Inns most of the time when I had a choice, but over the past few years Hampton Inn by Hilton has become my favorite. This hotel has all the reasons why. The staff was friendly, courteous, and seemed to enjoy making our stay as comfortable and easy as possible. When we were asked about our dinner plans, it was suggested that the valet drive us to dinner as it was a very cold and windy night. The room was clean, comfortable, modern, and well-furnished. Details matter and everything was as it should be. Perhaps, best of all is the location. If you are visiting Portland and want to walk about downtown and the Old Port, this is a perfect hotel and a great value. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Portland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merlinslap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel was very clean. The rooms were very clean and so was the bathroom. The staff were amazing, Brook at the front desk and Paul right there when you pull up at the front of the hotel. They were warm and hospitable. The location was great, on the waterfront and downtown Portland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, IN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Our room was a corner room so we had two walls of windows to see Casco Bay. Service to and from the airport was first class. The staff were all friendly and helpful. And always had a smile and greeted us. We didn't get to enjoy the indoor pool but wish we had. Breakfast was tasty and always had a different item as an option every morning. Sebago Brewery isn't part of the hotel, but you don't have to go outside to access itl Very convenient. Cleanliness was immaculate. And the location is walkable to all Portland has to offer. Close to Shipyard Brewing. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSoul2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakeswoman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I enjoy every time I get to stay at this Hampton Inn. The location is perfect, as I love Portland and can walk anywhere from the hotel. The service is wonderful and the room is a comfortable escape for me (always clean and fresh!). The price is right, and one of the best deals in town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jakeswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The rooms were clean, the bathrooms huge! Staff was nice and helpful. Located in downtown in walking distance to so many wonderful places. I would definitely stay here again if I travel back to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish Flat, NH, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed here numerous times and am always glad I did. The place is always spotless. Coffee and tea are always available.The large rooms, complimentary van service, kind staff and comfy beds are just a few of the many positive aspects of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing