We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Although one block off the Main Street, this Hampton was equal to it's higher priced cousin Garden Inn less than a block away. Nice helpful staff, room ready and amenities were outstanding. With street parking being at a premium, especially considering the rabid meter maids, use the valet parking for $15 a day. Small price to pay to be free of a parking ticket.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    435
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
363
642
45
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel is at a great location and walking distance from restaurants and sightseeing boats. You don't need a car to get to landmarks, airport etc. The hotel's shuttle service has a great staff and will take you anywhere in the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Junction, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. They were very welcoming, polite, and accommodating. Very pleasant stay there. Rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable. Hotel is perfectly located, close to many fantastic restaurants. All within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this past weekend and it was a really awesome stay. Portland is a great base to visit some other areas such as boothbay harbor and cape elizabeth. The room we stayed in had two queen beds and was roomy and comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and modern. Breakfast like others said was great, varied and plentiful. We never left hungry! The staff was always pleasant and going above and beyond. The pool and the gym were also great: everything you could think of. The location was great, walking distance to many restaurants, bakeries and bars although a lot did close early, but still enough to do. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LJOHN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We love Maine, the ocean views and the gourmet lobsters! The Hampton Inn is perfect, with a very friendly staff and you can walk anywhere from the hotel. Our room had a very beautiful ocean view.(Carmen Licia Palazzo-Almeida)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenLicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

For my daughters wedding anniversary I booked a room for 2 nights for my daughter and son-in-law at this hotel based on the recommendations of your website, I would not go anywhere without looking at TripAdvisor first.
I had asked for a little something from the hotel and they provided a corner room (bigger) with water view. They found the hotel to be excellent (would go there again). The bed was very comfortable and the room felt great. The breakfast was outstanding.
It was within walking distance to everywhere they wanted to be and found Portland very easy to get around. Lots of restaurants and delicious bakeries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbarton, NH
Level Contributor
250 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfect spot for seeing Portland, in walking distance to everything. Not exactly waterfront, but water close! The staff was fantastic, extremely helpful, seemingly happy to be there, very customer-centric. The room was clean and roomy, pretty basic. If you've stayed at a Hampton Inn before you know what to expect. Breakfast was good; coffee and tea available all the time. Continue to be irked by the valet charge at all Hiltons and many Hamptons - build it into the room rate. The valets were great, though, and very informative. Overall very nice stay - would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlennzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing