We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place - wonderfully friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've been to Portland a number of times, but my G/F had not. Last time I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn right on the waterfront, but it was over $100 a night more expensive than the Hampton which is a block back from the water.

The experience here was excellent and I would rate this Hampton Inn above any of the others I have stayed in over the past 5 years. The building is new, all the staff - from the valet to the checkin people, to the breakfast staff were very friendly and really went above and beyond to help out.

The room was clean and quiet, the bed comfortable. We did eat breakfast there one day (it was fine - nothing inspiring or great, but can't complain about the price). We did not try the brewpub / restaurant on the corner because we wanted to explore downtown a little more.

The HGI is a little newer and a little fancier, but not sure there's a $100/night difference in it. If the price was the same I'd probably stay there, but no complaints at all about the Hampton and the value is definitely better in the summer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raoul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I had a last minute change of plans on a recent trip to New England and decided to spend a night in Portland. As we were driving I booked our room via the website. We got a decent rate for a King room. We valet parked the car with the understanding that we had unlimited in and out privileges. We ended up walking everywhere so it wasn't an issue. The check in procedure was quick and painless. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was also clean and spacious. There was no tub but that was fine for us. There were large windows. We were at the back of the hotel so our view was of the town, not the water, but it was still nice. The breakfast in the morning was hot and fresh. Nothing special - about what you would expect from a complementary breakfast at a chain hotel. There is a pub/restaurant attached to the lobby. We had a drink at the bar but no food. All in all we were quite pleased and would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheresanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I could find no fault in the quality of service and amenities in this hotel. It is in an excellent location close to the bustling dock area and within short walking distance to many excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here once before...last summer and was very happy with our room. This time not do much. In fact, I'm quite disappointed. This room is very outdated and looks like a cheap motel room. On a positive, the staff was friendly and did let us check on early. If I stay here again, I'd request the room I had last year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn Portland, Maine. It was in an ideal location, close to the waterfront and restaurants in the area.

Check-in was quick and easy. When I arrived to my room, I was pleasantly surprised to see two nice big windows. They both looked out over the parking lot, but I liked the bright natural light that came into the room.

The room was nicely decorated and had a big screen TV. The bathroom with shower, was also large.

Sleep quality was very good. During my first night there, I woke up to a baby crying in the room next door, but the walls were so well insulated, that it did not disturb my sleep. I quickly drifted back to sleep.

The complimentary breakfast was nicely presented, and had a variety of hot and cold offerings. The dining area was comfortable as well.

I tool advantage of the complimentary shuttle to take me to my work location, and back to the airport for my departure home.

I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the hall will give you two large windows.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn in Downtown Portland, Maine where we were attending a wedding. We were very happy. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us to different restaurants, activities, and it was all complimentary. The drivers were very helpful and polite. The staff at the hotel was also friendly. The hotel was very clean, beds comfortable, and the free breakfast was very good. There is also free coffee all day. The location is great. You can walk all over the town and along the harbor. We ate two meals at the hotel restaurant and they were great. We had a full lobster dinner for $25.00 that was delicious.

Room Tip: eventide has great lobster rolls and oysters
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizett251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Harbor view? Parking lots w/ distant water. Compl. brkfst? Hrm ... weird sausage concoctions and boxed cereals. Excellent beds, roomy, clean. Limited TV choices. Good location. Pretty quiet. Overall ok, but a bit pricey. coal B&B's at about same price - better food!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £105 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing