We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and see the sights!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for the last two nights of our vacation in Maine and I couldn't have been happier with the stay, the service and the location. We paid extra for a room with a view, so could watch ships and ferries moving in and out of the harbor - it was well worth the extra price. The room was comfortable and included a fridge and microwave. The breakfast, which was included, had a good deal of variety, offering different options the two mornings we were there. The location was great, too. We were able to walk to everything that we wanted to see in the city, from Longfellow's house and the Cryptozoology Museum to all of the shops and restaurants along the waterfront (and, I'd like to add, we're kind of old and sedentary). When it came time to leave, we asked about a shuttle to the airport and, within five minutes, were loaded into the van and driven to the airport by an extremely affable young man. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor facing south... great view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for nice comments about our staff. Glad you enjoyed Portland. Its a great place to visit in the fall as well as summer! Come see us again.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location is great. One block from the ferry terminal. Staff are super friendly and accommodating. Bed, tv, shower, furnishings all good. The fitness center is small but the three treadmills, stationary bike and elliptical are brand new and top shelf. Free weight dumb bells only for lifting. Pool is small and indoors. Breakfast variety about average for hampton. The exemplary staff and great location take away the sting of paying JW marriott rates.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for including us in your summer plans. Come see us again. Maine is a beautiful place in the fall!!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
Hampton Inn Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Found the hotel to be in an excellent location in Portland, Me. The facility and staff excelled our expectations. As a frequent traveler, I will seek out a Hampton Inn for future stays. Loved the idea of complimentary "On the Go" breakfast bags and bowl of fruit at registration desk. Staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful. Job very well done by all!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 281susanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and staff. Good you see you enjoyed Portland. Please come see us again.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Hampton inn in Portland me is a nice hotel in a great location.It is 1 block from the waterfront.My room was good size with a microwave and fridge and comfortable bed.the free breakfast was good with many choices.all the staff were friendly and helpful.Great vegetarian rest.on congress street the green elephant,inexpensive,great service and great food.for your gelato fix try gorgeous gelato 434 fore street,on same street as hotel about 2 blocks away. If I return to Portland I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel and for the great food suggestions. We are fortunate to have many really good places to eat. No way you got to try them all, so come back and visit!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent location in downtown Portland, ME. The rooms are good sized, well appointed, and clean. There is a decent exercise facility and a good restaurant (Sebago) accessible right from the hotel ground floor. Several great restaurants within walking distance. Typical buffet breakfast for Hampton, you know what I mean if you've stayed at one before. I will say the robust coffee is excellent and a great start to a busy day. Only 10 minutes from the Portland Jetport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for the honest comments about your stay. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff in this hotel is amazing and very friendly. The amenities are super/well maintained and the breakfast is delicious. I definitively recommend this hotel to anyone considering hotels in the portland area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for nice comments about our staff. I work with good people who like what they do. We appreciate you staying with us. Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights. Front desk, valets and everyone else I came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, bed extremely comfortable.
The restaurant onsite is a brewpub from a local brewery. The beer was good and the food was better than I expected.
The best feature of the hotel is it's location. You can walk to anywhere in the port area easily.
Lots of great restaurants, seafood, bars, music and sights. Walked for hours both nights and always felt comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

It is nice to be located in the center of it all. Come see us again. Portland is beautiful in the fall.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £102 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing