We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great location, great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great room, great location, great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Beautiful room in a newer Hampton. Modern lobby area and room, indoor pool, restaurant right next door but not really needed as so many better choices in Portland.
Shuttle by appointment or phone call from airport--but hotel not on big board at airport--which made us nervous at first. Shuttle drivers very accommodating and informative though. Only takes about 15 minutes to get downtown. If you are only staying in the downtown area, you do NOT need a car--everything is an easy walk.

Do not spend the extra money for the "Harbor View" . This is a working harbor and not all that picturesque where the holel is located--plus it's a block and 1/2 from the water....not worth the extra.

Good hot breakfast open 6-10 am during the week and til 11 on weekends. Very well staffed--both on the buffet and in the dining room. Our plates were whisked away as soon as we were done.

Coffee urns available round the clock which we took advantage of several times. Good value for the high dollar you have to pay to be downtown Portland. Also within a block of Fore Street and Hugo's restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't bother with Harbor View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel and especially mentioning breakfast. Gail who runs the kitchen will be thrilled.

Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    411
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
340
624
42
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Average hotel in a pretty good location. Nothing remarkable about the space or front desk. The staff at the breakfast area were always friendly and very polite. Cons: There is valet parking for the hotel and the lot is right on site and easily accessable. Purely a money maker. Also found the air system very noisy and the amount of light coming in from around the door bothersome when sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I greatly appreciate you taking time to share comments on your recent visit to Portland and our hotel. I will certainly share your comments with our staff, especially the front desk staff members. "Average" isn't good enough. I am sure they will feel the same.

Please come visit us again. We would be honored to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for one night after a 10 hr ferry ride from Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. In a lovely location near beautiful cafes and restaurants, 5 minus walking distant and near lovely local stores along the harbour. Super service, quick, prompt and convenient - would definitely go back! (Also impressive room interior decor and style)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrizia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed Portland and also glad we could be a part of your visit. Please come see us again.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Maine
Level Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is a pricey hotel for the area and state, but the location is perfect! There was a concert on the pier the night we stayed, so it was great for us with no traveling involved after the show. The staff was excellent. Nicole was extremely helpful when I confirmed my reservation and the rest of the staff followed suit. I can't say enough good about the entire experience. The room was clean and very quiet especially for a concert night that was sold out! Loved it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YotaPwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our staff and especially the nice comment about Nicole. She will be thrilled. Thank you for srtaying with us and come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A fantastic hotel. It's fairly new very clean and comfortable. the front desk staff was welcoming and gave good restaurant suggestions in the area. The walk is very close to all the downtown restaurants and shops. Behind the hotel is an amazing oyster bar you must check out if you at all like those. Duck fats is also close behind building and it is basically the best lunch place on the east coast. on a busy in season weekend, the hotel will be pricey but everything in downtown is pricey. The vallet parking was inexpensive and well worth it for the convenience. no need for a car once you are in town. So much to do close by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel. And as you mentioned, Portland restaurants are hard to beat. Glad you had a good time in our City. Please come back for a visit. There are a ton of great restaurants (besides those you mentioned) that our front desk staff would be glad to tell you about.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect === close enough to walk to tourist activities but not close enough to have any disturbing noise. Rooms are large, clean, have fridge and micro, and have plenty of outlets for technology devices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for nice comment about our staff. And thank you for staying with us. There are alot of good places to stay while visiting Portland. We are honored you stayed with us. Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a great time at the Hampton Inn in Portland. We stayed for 5 nights. The room was large and clean. The bathroom as large and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was central and close to most things you wanted to see in Portland. I would especially mention the folks who worked the breakfast (I think the gentleman's name was Levon) and another lady who did the cooking. They were cheerful and pleasant and the breakfast (for a free hotel break fast was pretty good). The kids had waffles most days but there was also toast, eggs and oatmeal available. The fresh fruit tasted a bit funny to me but maybe that was just me.

The gym is ok in terms of equipment (would have liked a spin bike) but it was clean and large not very crowded. There is a great running trail about a block from the hotel. The people I spoke to at the front desk didn't seem to know about it but its easy to find and worth it if you like to run.

The valet / shuttle bus guys were very nice and helpful. They had good restaurant recommendations and the shuttle service (they will take you pretty much any where in Portland) was a great feature (and compensated for the $20/day parking fee).

The hotel was a bit on the expensive side (but it was high season). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
What a nice review of your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to mention Levon and the breakfast staff. They have had a busy summer and I know they take pride in getting our guests off to a good start in the morning. Your comments have been shared.

Please come visit us again soon. Portland is a beautiful place in the Fall.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing