We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Theatre

State Theatre
Ranked #57 of 141 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

State Street Theater is fine for people who want to drink and make noise during performances- there are no reserved seats and since my husband is confined to a wheelchair it was very uncomfortable for him. My son and his fiancee enjoyed the show much more because they could stand and move about.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dab_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Melissa Etheridge Concert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The theatre was old and quaint. Every seat was a good seat for the show. A bit warm......didn't seem to have air conditioning, but the show was excellent and well worth the visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dumpy bar not a Theatre”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Drove across three states to see someone I've waited a year to see. The talent was incredible however it was completely ruined by this dump of a theatre. First, the place is about selling drinks to drunks who are there to drink and ruin your good time. People buy the cheap seats, in order to get in have a good time but then they try to sit in high pay seats if you get up. The bar is actually inside the auditorium so as you are listening to your favorite musician play an instrumental you get to hear the wonderful sounds of bar atmosphere, blenders, things falling over, people talking, ice machines dropping ice for drunks, did I mention the drunks talking loudly? The seats are small, its hot, people smoke inside and no one says anything. The ONE bathroom is circa 1932, the urinals are the off the wall ones so every gets to urinate in front of the 50+ crowd gathered there to go since there is only one bathroom, the toilet stalls have no doors so if you really have to go #2 lets hope you aren't shy. Nothing like paying 50 bucks for a concert and getting to watch a drunk wipe his butt as he staggers out of the stall. Seriously this place is a time warp. The parking garage is a disaster. Everyone leaves at the same time and these rocket scientists have a single pay station that a thousand people are lined up at once to pay. Its also a no re-entry, when you walk in you are immediately asked if you are going to be drinking or not. If you are they band you, in other words if you forgot something in your car too bad for you, you cant get back in as the bar doesn't want to card people that look under age more than once. Its dirty, the seats have tape with hand writing on them to identify them so people spend half the concert fighting over the fact they are sitting in the right seats. It basically went on for the entire concert. I've seen hundreds of concerts and I would never go back here. I can overlook a lot of things but interrupting the performer by throwing stuff in a bar sink is unacceptable. Seriously who is in charge of this place? They are lucky I don't sue to get my money back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank geolori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cramped seats, ok acoustics, nothing great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I saw an amazing guitarist at this venue with three other adults. We all found the seats cramped, without much leg room, and weirdly set up. Who ever heard of a bar set up just outside of the doors to the auditorium? We frequently heard the blender going which was so ridiculous that I don't even believe I'm writing this!!! My seat was bumped into from being about thirty or so times during the performance...apparently if you're over 5'8 you will be stuffed in like a sardine. We also smelled cigarette smoke during the concert. In other words, no security, no rules, a lack of sufficient bathroom facilities... I will never go to a concert at this venue again. Ever. The guitarist we saw usually goes to better venues, which are not hell bent on creating drunk sardines.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank giovanna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
452 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Interesting Location.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Where are the Maine Health Inspectors???????? The restrooms are an abomination! This beautiful old building could provide a great theatre experience with the acoustics, the architecture, and visibility of the stage. Drinks are served during the show which adds to distraction for the performers/audience as people are walking in and out...talking in the foyer and in the aisles. Parking is an issue but is available in the parking garage next to the old Eastland Park Hotel. Despite all of the noise and distraction....the performer managed to give a fine concert. Could be a great place......Certainly not that at the present time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing