We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING!! Stay Away!”
Review of Motel 6 Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Portland
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We reserved this hotel because their website said they had queen sized beds. Lies!!! The room was about the size of a closet and the beds were NOT queens. The hallway looked like a college dorm and smelled like one too. Do yourself a favour, stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
2  Thank kkuffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have never had a worse experience at hotel in my life.
I had left a sweatshirt there. Upon realizing I don't have it, I called to inquire if they have it and was told that they do. I was thrilled and asked to send it to me please since we were already back in New York. To my surprise, I was told they will not send it because they don't have a box. I was also told that if they don't come across a box in 30 days, the sweatshirt will be discarded and that's the company policy.

I spoke to the "front desk", then to "guest service relations" and finally to "corporate offices". Corporate offices had confirmed their policy that if box was not going to be found, the item will be discarded. I asked who am I speaking to and they responded that its "corporate agent guest relations specialist". The only thing they specialize in is making resolutions of simple problems impossible.

The head service relations specialist was polite with men but not with women. She was the first to inform me that there is no box and they will throw it out in 30 days. She was also the one to inform me that even though there are ashtrays in the room and it smells like smoke - the rooms are non-smoking. Her name if anyone encounters her is Ann Faucher.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was reasonably clean but was missing what I considered to be basic amenities: shampoo and a coffee maker. For a similar price I have had better experiences with other motels.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lam0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

for once, I did not check the reviews before I booked this hotel since we were just looking for a one night stay after our plane arrived after midnight. Big mistake. We were put on the 4th floor - a smoking floor - because they do not offer you a choice. The hallway was filthy - it looked like it had not been vacuumed in weeks. The smell of cigarettes was appalling in the hallway though luckily our room did not smell quite so bad. Also, the room itself was fairly clean though very shabby. The only good thing about the hotel is that the bed was comfortable. The hotel isn't even all that close the airport - which is really the reason I had booked it. Find another place if you can.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zaphoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed or 1 night and the room was clean and staff was friendly. When we arrived, there was a strong smell of Chlorine in the hallway. Our room was small but usable for one night. It was perfect for one night or 2 nights and it was cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LexyAllura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

...and I was told it was non-smoking. I hate the smell of cigarettes and couldn't sleep because of it. When we got there there was only 1 towel for 2 occupants, and the bathroom light was broken.
Disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CricketBeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Do NOT stay here unless you are literally looking for a place to crash for a few hours and have no sense of smell. I had read the bad reviews, but stupidly thought people were just overreacting. Until I went there myself. It is disgusting. There were hairs in the bathroom, hairs on the floor, the room was "non-smoking" but reeked of smoke, and the whole place just seemed eerie (The eeriness was not helped by the fact that Travelodge next door was completely deserted and that the place in general resembles a prison.) I am not a picky traveler, and I have never done this before, but we actually took a look at our room and left, demanded our money back, and went to the Hampton Inn instead. Worth every dollar in extra expense. The girl at the front desk was helpful, though. Believe the reviews people: DO NOT stay here if you value cleanliness of any kind!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank racheld757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
6.7 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland

Address: 1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103-1045
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Motel Six
Portland Motel 6
Motel Six Portland
Motel 6 Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing