We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best German in the area”
Review of Schulte & Herr

Schulte & Herr
Ranked #86 of 626 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Maine/New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best German in the area”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you like German food, this is the place for you. They start you out with delicious bread. The potato pancakes are to die for. The tart with a side of arugula is just wonderful. The pork schweineschnitzel is plentiful and in a tasty brown gravy. It comes with German potato salad or potato gratin. The cucumber salad and the side of vegetables are a bargain at $4 each. The fish stew is tasty, and the fish is not overcooked. This place is BYOB, so dinner with an appetizer, a main, and a side fills you up for under $30 a person. They accept reservations which makes dining in Portland much easier. You can always find a spot on the street nearby. The place is not fancy but has a wonderful hip vibe. And the service is friendly! Go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanCookTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good German Food, Reasonable Prices, Friendly Waitstaff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I took a German friend to Schulte & Herr for dinner, hoping for the best but fearing that I might be embarrassed. It was a pleasant surprise. My friend found the offerings to be authentic, while I was pleased that the cooking wasn't too heavy. For appetizers, he had the zweilbelkuchen and I had the trout salad. Loved my selection! For our main courses, he had the schweineschnitzel and I had the sautéed spaetzle. Again, I enjoyed mine very much and also liked my taste of his. NB This restaurant is BYOB. We brought 2 bottles of beer to start and a bottle of wine for the meal. The overall price was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milford, ct
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I lived in Germany for 3 years and this transported me back in time. We brought our own wine to pair with the food and had schnitzel which was perfect and my friend had the wurst platter. So good. Service was quick and friendly and oh the bread was yummy. I love good food and this was right on. Also the only restaurant I have been to state side that really serves real German cheesecake was it ever good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakeshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great German home cooking!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I went to Schulte and Herr for lunch. We asked for the bread basket, which was a sampling of homemade breads that came with a unique spread. The server/owner was delightful and made us feel as though we were enjoying a meal in Germany. I ordered the sandwich of the day, which was pork. It was warm and good and came with German potato salad that was okay. My husband ordered the spaetzle, which was like a gourmet macaroni and cheese. It was delicious! It came with a summer cucumber salad that was also yummy. Overall, we were quite satisfied with the experience and will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Small, German Restaurant”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Schulte & Herr is a small restaurant, the features German food. The menu is limited, and they do not sell liquor (you may, however, bring your own liquor). For an appetizer, I had an onion-Gruyere tart, which was very tasty. I also had sauerbraten, which I found to be somewhat fatty and not as tender as I have had in other restaurants. My companion liked the sauerbraten, however. My companion also had a bratwurst platter (and that came with only one bratwurst, German potato salad, and sauerkraut). He enjoyed that too. The service was very attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andi55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schulte & Herr also viewed

 

Been to Schulte & Herr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing