We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Park Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Inn at Park Spring is a beautiful B&B in the heart of the Port District in Portland Maine. We stayed one night after seeing a show at the Port City Music Hall. The venue was a short (safe) walk from the Inn, and if you're seeing a show at the State, this venue is even closer. We stayed in Room 2 (on the second floor) which had been newly upgraded with a fresh coat of paint. The room was beautifully decorated, and the room and the bathroom were more spacious than expected. Apparently, Buddy, the new owner, has big plans for further upgrades and renovations in 2014. The peanut butter cup brownies were a delicious nighttime treat, and breakfast, which consisted of a mango, pear and apple fruit crisp, and crabcake and egg cup, were just what we needed on the morning after. Buddy and Deborah, the inn keepers, are very kind and enthusiastic, and care deeply about the comfort of their guests. This inn is very clean and comfortable, and we would definitely stay here again. Hopefully we will be able to stay longer on our next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
182
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I recently completed our first stay at a B&B at the Inn at Park Spring. I must say we couldn't have been happier with the location, the room and the service. An excellent experience all around.

The location is great. It's walking distance to nearly everything you need in the city. There's a nice deli right next door and a cute small bar at the end of the street that actually got busy at night.

The room was lovely. There was ample space for my husband, me and all of our stuff. The bed was comfortable and the room tastefully decorated. The only two small negatives of our room, Room 1 I think, are there's a step up into the bathroom and the room faces a busy street. The step up to the bathroom is a bit irritating, but to be expected considering the age of the property. We were able to drown out the street noise the second night by setting up a fan we found in the closet.

The service was spectacular. Staying at the B&B you really got one on one attention not available at a larger hotel. The Innkeeper, Deb, was wonderful, as were the two other female staffers who's names I regretfully don't remember. Deb made an excellent dinner recommendation of The Congress Bar and Grill. (Please take a look at my review for that as well.) The bar looked to be a local place that my husband and I would never have known about if not for Deb. The food was spectacular!

If my husband and I ever venture back to Portland, we will most certainly stay at the Inn again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyB1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Inn was perfect for an overnight getaway for my husband and me. The room was wonderful, the Inn so cute, the innkeeper friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious, location was perfect for walking around Portland. Thank you Debra for being so welcoming and good luck with all your new undertakings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 528traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the inn. The b&b is very well done and beautifully decorated inside. Our room was on the top floor and was very spacious with a good sized bathroom. The guest lounge is very nice and the breakfasts very good. Location is also very good, it's not right in the centre of portland but only about 10 minute walk to the harbour. Our host was excellent, friendly and helpful. When the restaurant we were booked into one evening had a fire the night before, she made some great recommendations of where else to try and managed to book us a table at the back bay grill (outstanding and well worth a visit) with about two hours notice. We'll be recommending the inn to other people.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Honkinonbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This B&B is in a great location. Free parking just cross the street. Excellent breakfast with communal table where one has opportunity to talk to other guests. Rooms are comfortable, and although building is old the remodel of the bathrooms has been well done. AC in window a little noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Oaks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here in Sept. This inn is in an excellent location within walking distance of the many restaurants in the wharf area. We made our reservation over a month ago and when we got there we were greeted by Debbie the new asst manager who told us of the change in ownership. We were in room 1 in the front of the building where you would obviously expect more city noise. The room was warm and we had a hard time with the a/c system getting it to cooler temp. An oddity to the room is a step up to the bathroom from the bedroom which could be dangerous at night. When I used my hair dryer after showering all the power went out in the bedroom. I am sure the new owner will be addressing these things. The morning breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy M, Owner at The Inn at Park Spring, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback on your visit with us. We are the new owners of the Inn as of September 3 so we are still trying to work out all of those little kinks in guest rooms while doing a few major updates . We will check into the issue with the bathroom power. With the building built in 1867 we have to admit we are not for sure how to fix the step up to the bathroom but believe me we are working on it. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and of course our assistant innkeeper Deborah. she is a joy to add to our Inn family. We do hope you will come back and see all the new changes to the Inn over the winter months
Warm Regards
Buddy Marcum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Could not have picked a better place for weekend get away. We heard this Inn had new owner and management. Everything was amazing, what a beautiful place and the Inn keeper and staff went out of their way to make our stay the best !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kblack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Park Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Park Spring

Property: The Inn at Park Spring
Address: 135 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting "Location, Location, Location", Portland's most centrally located Inn. Museums, Art Districts, Old Port shops and most Restaurants are a 15-minute walk. The 5 room 1830's Inn with all private baths, queen size beds, and unique, non-pretentious country charm. Outstanding sleeping functionality is topped with a scrumptious breakfast. New to the Inn this year The Inn at Park spring Suite ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Park Spring Hotel Portland
The Inn At Park Spring Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing