We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice inn in a nice town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Park Spring
Ranked #3 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice inn in a nice town”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this Inn while trying to get a room at The Carleton while on our way south from Camden for the night. As it turns out, Buddy, the owner of The Carleton, recently bought the Inn at Park Spring (on the corner of Park and Spring Streets). The property was nice, with some new upgrades (we were told by Host DEBORAH) and it was very comfortable. Comfortable bed, good shower, towels could be better and good location. My wife and I walked to Old Port In about 15 minutes, where we ate at Boones, which Deborah recommended. It was great food and I highly recommend if you want good Maine Seafood. We took a cab back and it cost less than $5.00 for the ride, definitely a bargain! Only downside is the steep narrow stairs and hating 2 heavy suitcases up and down to/from the third floor. Also, the entry steps from the street would be wide enough to easily carry 2 suitcases if they didn't put flower pots on the stairs making it a bit of a challenge. They also served a nice breakfast in the morning. Overall a nice place to stay. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Unless you are a strong climber, avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
182
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights. We stayed in Room 4, on the third floor. This room is very spacious and has a wonderfully comfortable, large bed.

We very much enjoyed the breakfasts, and in particular, the pumpkin scone that was served one morning was delicious! (we could smell this baking when we woke up, from our room!). The afternoon sweet treats were also very tasty!

Deborah, the assistant inn keeper, was very welcoming and gave us some great pointers. The inn itself is handily located for downtown, and we could easily reach all the restaurants/shops etc without difficulty! A great base for exploring a great city!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouLouLouLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Inn at Park Spring is a beautiful B&B in the heart of the Port District in Portland Maine. We stayed one night after seeing a show at the Port City Music Hall. The venue was a short (safe) walk from the Inn, and if you're seeing a show at the State, this venue is even closer. We stayed in Room 2 (on the second floor) which had been newly upgraded with a fresh coat of paint. The room was beautifully decorated, and the room and the bathroom were more spacious than expected. Apparently, Buddy, the new owner, has big plans for further upgrades and renovations in 2014. The peanut butter cup brownies were a delicious nighttime treat, and breakfast, which consisted of a mango, pear and apple fruit crisp, and crabcake and egg cup, were just what we needed on the morning after. Buddy and Deborah, the inn keepers, are very kind and enthusiastic, and care deeply about the comfort of their guests. This inn is very clean and comfortable, and we would definitely stay here again. Hopefully we will be able to stay longer on our next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I recently completed our first stay at a B&B at the Inn at Park Spring. I must say we couldn't have been happier with the location, the room and the service. An excellent experience all around.

The location is great. It's walking distance to nearly everything you need in the city. There's a nice deli right next door and a cute small bar at the end of the street that actually got busy at night.

The room was lovely. There was ample space for my husband, me and all of our stuff. The bed was comfortable and the room tastefully decorated. The only two small negatives of our room, Room 1 I think, are there's a step up into the bathroom and the room faces a busy street. The step up to the bathroom is a bit irritating, but to be expected considering the age of the property. We were able to drown out the street noise the second night by setting up a fan we found in the closet.

The service was spectacular. Staying at the B&B you really got one on one attention not available at a larger hotel. The Innkeeper, Deb, was wonderful, as were the two other female staffers who's names I regretfully don't remember. Deb made an excellent dinner recommendation of The Congress Bar and Grill. (Please take a look at my review for that as well.) The bar looked to be a local place that my husband and I would never have known about if not for Deb. The food was spectacular!

If my husband and I ever venture back to Portland, we will most certainly stay at the Inn again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyB1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Inn was perfect for an overnight getaway for my husband and me. The room was wonderful, the Inn so cute, the innkeeper friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious, location was perfect for walking around Portland. Thank you Debra for being so welcoming and good luck with all your new undertakings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 528traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the inn. The b&b is very well done and beautifully decorated inside. Our room was on the top floor and was very spacious with a good sized bathroom. The guest lounge is very nice and the breakfasts very good. Location is also very good, it's not right in the centre of portland but only about 10 minute walk to the harbour. Our host was excellent, friendly and helpful. When the restaurant we were booked into one evening had a fire the night before, she made some great recommendations of where else to try and managed to book us a table at the back bay grill (outstanding and well worth a visit) with about two hours notice. We'll be recommending the inn to other people.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Honkinonbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This B&B is in a great location. Free parking just cross the street. Excellent breakfast with communal table where one has opportunity to talk to other guests. Rooms are comfortable, and although building is old the remodel of the bathrooms has been well done. AC in window a little noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Park Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Park Spring

Property: The Inn at Park Spring
Address: 135 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Park Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting "Location, Location, Location", Portland's most centrally located Inn. Museums, Art Districts, Old Port shops and most Restaurants are a 15-minute walk. The 5 room 1830's Inn with all private baths, queen size beds, and unique, non-pretentious country charm. Outstanding sleeping functionality is topped with a scrumptious breakfast. New to the Inn this year The Inn at Park spring Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Park Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Park Spring Hotel Portland
The Inn At Park Spring Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing