We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, Comfort, and Convenience”
Review of The Percy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Percy Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our group of three couples spent an extended Memorial Day Weekend at The Percy Inn and couldn't have been more pleased. We reserved the Keats and Whitman rooms and the Pine Studio, all on the top floor. The Studio can connect to the Keats room which gave us the ability to all gather in the spacious Studio for breakfast or at other times as we planned our activities. Off-street parking was conveniently offered just beside the Inn, and we mostly left our vehicle there and walked throughout Portland, despite the four straight days of windy, cold, and wet weather we experienced. From the Inn to the heart of the Old Port district was an easy 15 minute walk, although there are a number of excellent restaurants and bars within less than a 5 minute walk. The next time we return to Portland, we'll be sure to return to The Percy Inn as well.

Room Tip: Although the Inn is on a relatively quiet residential street, the rooms at the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOODmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Inn is in a great location in Portland. Benefit is off-street parking. The rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd Floor and you must tackle steep steps. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The Innkeeper is/was not on the premises but his morning staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The morning breakfast is fruit, muffins and instant oatmeal. Message to Innkeeper--you need better coffee.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms and bed sizes. They rooms on the second floor are spacious and have big beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatinWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We went back here a second time. The last visit was 2 years ago.
Again we found a very nice place at a reasonable price. A short walk to the Old Port district.
Well kept rooms but the beat part is the girl that met us and let us in early. Carrie, the house keeper/tour guide/entertainer made the visit even better. Even though the house was full she made us feel like we were the only guest in the place.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a lower level room. The steps are very very steep like Amste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbfivetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I am not a fan of B&Bs. This may have changed that impression. We only had one night in Portland and wanted a reasonable, convenient stay. I was leary when arrived because it seemed to sit on a less than cozy street. But very close to a main thoroughfare.

Room wasn't ready when we arrived. No big deal. We parked and went adventuring. Returned to the house to find a note saying our room is ready and head up. Stayed in the Walt Witman Room. It was a comfortable room. High a top the house. For one night, worked well. Even enjoyed the scented candle in the room.

House could use some maintenance. The bathroom was small...but great hot water. Just a little caulk and paint will fix up some blemishes.

It was nice that there was a small kitchenette right off the room with hot water for tea and coffee. My only disappointment was that I NEED coffee in the morning when getting up. And there was none until the breakfast was served. I'm an early riser and thank GOD I packed some instant packs where I could make my own until the breakfast lady came in.

Speaking of the breakfast lady...she was great. VERY hospitable and welcoming. Gave great driving advice.

Price was okay for the area and town. Not sure I'd want to spend a week here, but for a night or two...it works well.

Also, not sure why the beautiful living room was closed to guests. Seemed odd.

Room Tip: If you don't mind small stairs...choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived at the Percy Inn in the late afternoon in early October 2012. We were traveling with another couple and upon arriving at The Percy Inn found envelopes at the desk with our names on them and our room assignment/keys inside with a note from the owner welcoming us and telling us that he was away from the Inn running errands. We thought that was very nice of him, but we found out later that his "errands" were in Florida and would take all winder. The only people we saw, who were not guests, were two housekeepers (one earch morning).

The stairs at tthe Percy Inn are very steep, narrow and winding. If you are over 50 look somewhere else. Our bed linens and the bathrooms were clean; however, investing in a good vacuum cleaner might be a good idea.

If it is a hot breakfast you expect at a B&B/Inn this is not the place for you. The only hot food was a crock pot of hard boiled eggs or you could fix yourself a bowl of instant oatmeal. There was plenty of coffee, juice, boxed cereal, a variety of bread you could toast yourself and cold muffins and some cold pastries. There was a bowl of fresh fruit (both whole and a bowl of cut up fruit).

We traveled for over two weeks and stayed in B&B's/Inns the whole time and the Percy Inn was the most expensive and the most disappointing. Others had lovely breakfasts with afternoon tea and pastries and the Inn Keepers were so very helpful and informative about the area. You are on your own at The Percy Inn.

Room Tip: Don't stay above the second floor. Stairs are killers. Takes two people to get suitcases up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Finding accommodation for one night in Portland during the Foliage Festival period was not easy.
My husband and I were pleased with our stay at The Percy Inn,although my husband thought the room price was expensive when compared with other B&Bs we had stayed in elsewhere on our trip through New England.We were up graded to the Dorothy Parker Room which was nice and roomy.We were warned by Dale about the difficulty with suitcases so we only took an overnight bag up to our room. We were leaving early the next morning so we had the breakfast room to ourselves. Everything was set up beautifully. On site parking was a plus. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigred88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I arrived back in the US headed to Portland ME without a room reservation. Called the Inn and managed to get a last minute deal on a cancellation. I appreciated the deep discount and was willing to overlook a few minor details than if I had paid full rates. The Inn has the charm of an old building. Steep staircase was quaint rather than an inconvenience. The large room, 202, was clean and comfortable. Appreciated the updated, roomy bathroom (the phantom flushing toilet was a little annoying but didn't keep me awake) and flat screen tv. Enjoyed a DVD from the library that a friend had recommended along the way. Free off-street parking was a bonus as was the easy walk to a variety of restaurants. Liked the breakfast room just outside our door.The fresh baked items were tasty. A few other things were past their prime. Check expiration dates on the cream cheese packets before using. Carpet in the stairway needs replaced or maybe just cleaned. The door to our room needed to be freshened up a bit, grimy area around doorknob, a pet peeve.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getaway52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Percy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Percy Inn

Address: 15 Pine St, Portland, ME 04102-3807
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Percy Hotel Portland
The Percy Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing