We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of The Percy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Percy Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2013

What a disappointment. The owner was nowhere to be found during our entire stay. The place is dated and is dire need of some TLC. The location is one mile from the waterfront shops and is in a less then deseriable neighborhood of Portland. The bathroom ceiling had paint that was pealing off and had a very dated look. The two young ladies running the Inn were great! Always smiling and cheerful and ready to help! They were the brightspot of a very dated and overpriced B and B

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Double07Traver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Percy Inn is a classic old house that has been converted to a B&B. If you like rooms that are all alike, elevators, room service, full service restaurants, etc., then stay at a hotel. If you like places with a story and "character", then you might like the Percy Inn.
The Percy Inn is on the west side of downtown Portland. We usually just walked to wherever we wanted. It is under 1 mile from almost anything in downtown, the wharf, etc. Since you have to pay for parking in downtown Portland and because the Percy Inn had free parking, we typically left the car at the Percy Inn and walked. When we wanted to go further away, we discovered the Percy Inn was very centrally located. For example, we drove about 10 miles north to visit a covered bridge (Babb's bridge) and then wanted to go visit the lighthouses on Cape Elizabeth. The GPS picked the best route between the two spots and we passed within 50 feet of the Percy Inn! There are dozens of good restaurants within about a 5 minute walk of the Percy Inn.
The building dates to the 1800's, but has been modernized in most aspects. However, the floors are not completely level, there is no elevator, the stairs between the 2nd and 3rd floor are steep, narrow and wind! The rooms are like most B&Bs: strange combinations of previous rooms that have been combined to create a bedroom, bathroom and whatever else fits. (More on rooms in the tips section.) The inn has fire sprinklers throughout, smoke and carbon dioxide sensors, external fire escapes, etc.
Dale (the owner) is typically not at the B&B, but is local and reachable via the B&B telephone number. The breakfast staff and cleaning staff are around during the day to handle any questions or issues.
The Percy Inn has a few strange policies that seem odd -- until you think through them. For example, each room has a refrigerator with soft drinks. You can drink however much you want for free -- if you leave the can! If you take the can, then they will charge you $1.50 each. Why? Because people would empty the refrigerator when leaving. Likewise with the soap, shampoo and conditioner bottles. They provide 8 to 16 ounce bottles that they refill daily. They do not expect you to take these. If you do, they will charge you.
Breakfast is mostly cold items, but a good selection. They usually had a pie, fresh bread of some type (such as blueberry), lots of fresh fruits (such as blueberries, grapefruit, grapes, strawberries, etc.), fruit juices, milk, cold cereals, yogurts, etc. They had a toaster (no microwave) and good selection of breads, bagels, muffins, etc. with butter, jam, cream cheese, etc. The only hot "meat" item was boiled eggs. They also had hot water and coffee. Some items are available 24 hours a day.
We had a great time at the Percy Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the guests were are very pleasant to talk to during breakfast and the location could not be beat!

Room Tip: There is only 1 first floor room -- #102 -- Emerson. It can only be accessed from the back patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaratogaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I travel and stay in B&B's/Inns quite a lot, especially in Europe, however I also have some experience with it in the USA. I prefer B&B's/Inns to hotels as I really appreciate more personal setting and approach. The Percy Inn, Portland, ME, in spite of its highly attractive and really professional web site, was the worst choice so far.... and the most expensive one.
We stayed there one night during the Memorial Day Weekend. When booking the room over the phone, we were asked not to arrive after 9:30 pm. We therefore skipped a couple of sightseeings in ME and headed for The Percy Inn. Thus we managed to arrive maybe an hour earlier. However, there was no one around, just the front door was unlocked and in the lobby we found an envelope with our surname on it and the key inside. The living room was locked. Just next morning, after having a breakfast, we saw one (very friendly and helpful) girl from NH tiding up in the breakfast room. As for the breakfast itself, it was fine, however, the only hot food there were hard boiled eggs.
Our room No. 102 was cozy, however, TV and even Wi-Fi didn’t work. We were puzzled by various instructions found there. Par ex. saying if you took soda out of the refrigerator and did not leave the can in the litter bin (i.e. if you possibly took it with), you'd be charged $1.50, or if you took soap or shampoo with, you'd be charged $8.00 a bottle, etc. One really wouldn’t
expect something like this in - as they put it - “Deluxe Accommodations” and “intimate” inn.
What a difference when comparing with Central House, Bar Harbor, ME where we spent the next night and were welcomed warmly by attentive, caring, kind, truly wonderful housekeeper Beth! What a treat it was!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our group of three couples spent an extended Memorial Day Weekend at The Percy Inn and couldn't have been more pleased. We reserved the Keats and Whitman rooms and the Pine Studio, all on the top floor. The Studio can connect to the Keats room which gave us the ability to all gather in the spacious Studio for breakfast or at other times as we planned our activities. Off-street parking was conveniently offered just beside the Inn, and we mostly left our vehicle there and walked throughout Portland, despite the four straight days of windy, cold, and wet weather we experienced. From the Inn to the heart of the Old Port district was an easy 15 minute walk, although there are a number of excellent restaurants and bars within less than a 5 minute walk. The next time we return to Portland, we'll be sure to return to The Percy Inn as well.

Room Tip: Although the Inn is on a relatively quiet residential street, the rooms at the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOODmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Inn is in a great location in Portland. Benefit is off-street parking. The rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd Floor and you must tackle steep steps. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The Innkeeper is/was not on the premises but his morning staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The morning breakfast is fruit, muffins and instant oatmeal. Message to Innkeeper--you need better coffee.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms and bed sizes. They rooms on the second floor are spacious and have big beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatinWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We went back here a second time. The last visit was 2 years ago.
Again we found a very nice place at a reasonable price. A short walk to the Old Port district.
Well kept rooms but the beat part is the girl that met us and let us in early. Carrie, the house keeper/tour guide/entertainer made the visit even better. Even though the house was full she made us feel like we were the only guest in the place.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a lower level room. The steps are very very steep like Amste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbfivetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I am not a fan of B&Bs. This may have changed that impression. We only had one night in Portland and wanted a reasonable, convenient stay. I was leary when arrived because it seemed to sit on a less than cozy street. But very close to a main thoroughfare.

Room wasn't ready when we arrived. No big deal. We parked and went adventuring. Returned to the house to find a note saying our room is ready and head up. Stayed in the Walt Witman Room. It was a comfortable room. High a top the house. For one night, worked well. Even enjoyed the scented candle in the room.

House could use some maintenance. The bathroom was small...but great hot water. Just a little caulk and paint will fix up some blemishes.

It was nice that there was a small kitchenette right off the room with hot water for tea and coffee. My only disappointment was that I NEED coffee in the morning when getting up. And there was none until the breakfast was served. I'm an early riser and thank GOD I packed some instant packs where I could make my own until the breakfast lady came in.

Speaking of the breakfast lady...she was great. VERY hospitable and welcoming. Gave great driving advice.

Price was okay for the area and town. Not sure I'd want to spend a week here, but for a night or two...it works well.

Also, not sure why the beautiful living room was closed to guests. Seemed odd.

Room Tip: If you don't mind small stairs...choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Percy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Percy Inn

Address: 15 Pine St, Portland, ME 04102-3807
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Percy Hotel Portland
The Percy Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing