We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I received a weekend in Portland at the Portland Harbor Hotel for a Christmas present and this was great home-base for our stay! Despite the road construction at the hotel's entrance our first night and broken elevator the second night, we had a great stay. The restaurant has comfortable seating for drinks, we were allowed a later check out, the room was clean/a good size and the bed was super comfy. The location is perfect - we walked around the city and didn't need our car once!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emhta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    293
    98
    55
    25
See reviews for
222
708
48
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Such a great venue - so reasonably priced, and so accomodating. Compared and contrasted to many other venues before deciding, and Portland Harbor was by far the most ideal place. Beautiful atmosphere, and very laid back. Event planners, Jacqueline and Linda were so great to work with, and very understanding of budgets, ideas, etc. Highly recommend this place for any type of event, i.e. bridal shower, rehearsal dinners, receptions, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel for one night in December to take advantage of the holiday events happening in Portland. We usually stay at the Regency, but decided to try something new. Check in was smooth and warm. The front desk was helpful and efficient. The room was small but comfortable. We had a double bed (I thought it was supposed to be a king, but I made a mistake) and I wish I had asked to switch at the time, but we decided to just live with it. It was tight! But we are used to a big bed at home. That is my only complaint about the room. We had dinner and drinks in the bar area by the gas fireplace. It was comfortable and yummy. Relaxing, informal, quiet, laid-back. The location is great because you are right in the heart of the Old Port and can easily walk around to shops and bars. The valet service was lovely as well- friendly, quick, helpful (we accidentally left our cellphones in the car and the valet got them for us). We adore the small New England feel of Portland so we were just happy to be there! The hotel was a nice, clean, friendly place to enjoy the city. I recommend it over the Regency only because it's slightly more upscale and a bit more sophisticated. My only issue is the decor which seemed rather bland and standard and an afterthought- nothing unique or especially eye-catching. But that is really a very minor complaint after an overall good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinkbemerry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a great hotel in the lovely town of Portland, Maine. The rooms are large and very clean. The lobby and bar have fireplaces that are nice to sit by in the cold evenings. Right outside your door are dozens of great restaurants in the Old Port. The concierge was very helpful and has all the menus from around town. The hot chocolate at the bar was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMorgan1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel was decent - pricey for what you get - which is a small room with laminate flooring (very nice for a hotel not to have carpet) and a very clean bathroom.
The good part was the rooms were soundproof and clean.
The bad part was the amount of bleach residue left on the bedding and towels. scratchy!

Room Tip: ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a very nice hotel located in the middle of the Old Port part of Portland. It is a new building with on-site parking. The staff was very friendly. One thing that is important to me is that coffee is available in the lobby for early risers, so I certainly appreciated that. The "courtyard" rooms appear to be very spacious, I know that ours was quite large. The floors are laminate that look like solid wood. This is a welcome change from the carpets that we always find in other hotels. The only negative comments I can make are (a) that the hallway on our floor really needed a good vacuum cleaning, and (b) the wireless Internet connection was flaky in that we had to sign in every time we accessed it.. Our room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable.I give the Hotel a score of "average" when it comes to value, because the room was quite pricey for Portland.

Room Tip: Our "courtyard" Rome was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 227RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

friendly staff all over the place
great bed
nice room
my room had a bad smell - like gas - which could not be detected or removed

the hotel has probably the slowest elevator ever built

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing