We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Portland Harbor Hotel is really a very nice hotel and is located in a beautiful sea side city. Well located in the heart of shopping and some very good restaurants. The night life on the weekends is just down the street if you are looking for that. Most rooms have a decent view. There is a courtesy car which will drive you to dinner and pick you up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were in Portland for a conference and this was the conference hotel. The accommodations especially the bed was clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't do enough for you especially offering turn down service nightly which included slippers, water and chocolate shaped like a lobster. Eve's Garden was a respite from the conference which is an outdoor courtyard. The food was OK but unimaginative but there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Just a few annoyances kept this hotel from excellent: leaking shower door which turned bathroom into a wading pool but was fixed immediately upon notice; it's unbelievable that no one reported before us. Turning on the TV with the remote was an adventure and unlike any that I've seen before. Door cards kept getting demagnitized so that trip to the lobby was needed almost daily. One more thing...there is only one elevator to get to the rooms; thank goodness we were on 2 and found the stairs.

Room Tip: Try to get one off the Eve's Garden courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a great hotel for my business needs. Our company has a corporate rate, but without it, the price can be astronomical. It is right in the heart of old port and the downtown offices. Front desk staff was efficient and acomodating. I have stayed here six or seven times over the past few years. I will return

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Great location to all things Portland Maine has to offer. Room was beautiful, upscale, comfortable, and clean. Our bathroom had a seperate tub and walk in shower which was a real plus. Staff went out of the way to meet all of our needs. Requested early check in which was accommodated by friendly front desk staff. Nightly bed turn down with water and chocolate shaped lobsters were a fun treat at the end of a busy day. Spa services were available. Great customer service even after our vacation was over. My daughter left her favorite blanket and the manager was able to locate the blanket and mailed it to us at their expence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel over Labor Day Weekend and would not recommend this hotel for other travelers. For the price my expectations were high. The room was extremely small and the quality of service was extremely disappointing for the price. They were extremely nonchalant about customer service which one would think would be a priority for what they charge. After staying a week in the area at various establishments this was the most expensive place we stayed and the most disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adventurousgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I spent Labor Day Weekend in Maine (Kennebunkport and Portland) with another out-of-town married couple. We stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel for three nights, and for the most part, it was fine. But just fine was all it was. We paid over $330/night during the weekend, and while we understand prices are higher over a holiday weekend, for the quality of service and room that we received, it's a steep price.

The room, the amenities, the location were fine for the most part. Some small - and some not so small - details were missed, however, making the stay not as comfortable as could be. Housekeeping failed to change the bedsheets despite a specific request to do so (we could tell the sheets weren't changed because of a small stain from room service dinner the day before). Cleanliness is, I like to think, one of the most important aspects of a comfortable stay at a hotel, so this was disappointing. Connecting to the free wifi offered at the hotel wasn't a problem, but staying connecting certainly was. I was repeatedly kicked off the internet after entering the access code given by the front desk. It was a struggle to look up restaurants, things to do in the area with those unexpected interruptions. The newspaper we requested with our reservation was also not available on the first day of our stay. A minor blip on the radar, but another sign of service glossing over guests' comfort.

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the horrible room service dinner that we ordered. My husband's burger was decent, but my grilled romaine salad and the pappardelle pasta were awful. Just awful. For eighty dollars, we expected a dinner that was somewhat satisfying. I would deem this inedible. Lesson learned - don't order room service at the Portland Harbor Hotel!

It's also important to note that the elevator system at the hotel is a bit impractical. For guests arriving through the valet parking garage, you take one elevator to the lobby level, then switch to another (right next to the first elevator) to head to guest rooms. I'm not sure why there aren't two functional elevators that both service all floors (including parking and guest rooms). It made for a number of delays while heading downstairs to valet parking.

For those booking a room at the hotel, please ask for a room facing the inner courtyard/garden. There is quite a bit of street noise for the rooms facing outside. The building isn't well insulated for noise, so we found it helpful that our room faced the courtyard/garden.

I think my husband and I will be returning to Kennebunkport and Camden a bit more frequently in the future as opposed to Portland, but if we did, I'm not sure we would stay at the Harbor Hotel. Would we recommend the hotel? Perhaps.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bostongal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A nice top quality hotel pretty much in the middle of town. Very clean, upscale and comfortable place to rest in between busy adventures. Very quiet, clean hotel. We didn't try much in the hotel but I'm sure the other services were excellent. Bed was super soft. Bathrooms spacious and clean. Left us a couple bottles of water and chocolates....very nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £87 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing