We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly We Will Not Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here in the past and found the hotel to be fine, maybe a little better--despite its quirks. This visit--all quirks and no substance. Some of my complaints are really quibbles: No one knowing that we had stayed there before. How many times do I have to hear: "Have you stayed here before?" Doesn't the computer show that?-Isn't it better to say: "Welcome Back, Mr. X?"! That is customer relations 101. The front desk is inept-they seem to cringe as you approach them-just hoping that you don't ask them a question that would require them to answer. The night we were there-it was pouring rain. Yet they had no umbrellas to pass out to guests--"They have all been taken"? Really? Then you need to have more at the ready! Oh, and our connecting rooms--BTW the only reason we stated there--promised at reservation, evaporated at checkin. Makes traveling with kids difficult. The reason given--the hotel was full. Hmmm there is a new fangled thingee called a computer--and it can actually block out rooms so that it doesn't matter how full the hotel is. It wasn't that they had more guests than rooms--they just were too inept to manage the configuration properly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I do see that you previously stayed with us last February, and provided a positive review on Trip Advisor. We apologize that we missed the mark this time and did not provide you our typical high standards of service.
We will use your comments regarding our front desk and reservation accuracy in on-going training sessions. Please know that we take your comments to heart and truly hope that you will return again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly, if I can be of additional assistance.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We thought it might be a little nicer in the rooms from the photos but they were large and we had a nice view of the courtyard! All the products they provide (soap etc! ) is organic and chemical free. nice touch! the lobby area and bar and restaruant were really lovely, cozy fireplace! great location in Portland, close to all the nice restaranuts!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We appreciate your positive review on Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Our hotel makes every effort to utilize eco-friendly products and we are glad that you enjoyed these amenities.
Please plan to return and stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

A one night stay in Portland proved to be a welcome break at this excellent hotel. Beautiful, comfortable, immaculate room with hardwood floors. Expansive, shining bathroom. Fabulous restaurant. Superb, friendly service. Pricey, but a great value. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butt0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your brief stay in Portland and thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community and we do hope that you will return in the future !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I will echo other reviewers who said that this hotel is in a perfect location (check!), that the staff were very accommodating (check! they even helped me with Tylenol when I had a headache), and that the rooms -- including the beds -- are comfortable (check!). But I must also add that the food at the bar downstairs was out of this world. We didn't even try the restaurant, because we spent three of our four nights eating appetizers at the bar! Good grief, the chef must be a genius. When we stayed there in May he had just rolled out a new crab bruschetta appetizer that was out of this world. I wish it could stay on the menu forever and be waiting for me the next time I'm on Portland. I live in San Francisco, and while I am not a gourmet, I certainly have eaten much delicious food in my lifetime and all I can say is that at this Portland hotel, each item was just more scrumptious than the next. I have to say, I also appreciated the fact that the bartenders and waiters did not make me -- a 50-something woman -- feel old and unhip and unnoticed, as I experienced at another hotel in the northeast. The only down side is that the parking costs $18 a day, and we needed our rental car because Portland was a midway stop on a big northeast tour. Other than that, the place is perfection and I hope to visit again as soon as I possibly can. Thank you, PHH, for being my favorite hotel of all time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed and welcomed 5 star review. This has been shared with our entire staff and was truly appreciated. Chef TIm Labonte and his team are true culinary professionals, we agree !

Please come back soon !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great Hotel in in Old Port. Location is easy to get to and a short walk to many of the attractions. The accommodations were very comfortable and the staff was great. Would highly recommend this for anyone looking to stay in the old port area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. We agree - The Portland Harbor Hotel has a great location in the heart of the Old Port. We hope that you enjoyed the full service experiences and amenities that we offer and that you will return in the future !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Portland Harbor and was so pleasantly surprised in all aspects. The hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Portland, within walking distance to restaurants, bars and the waterfront. The hotel was charming and has a casual yet sophisticated feel to it. The rooms were comfortable and were what you would expect from a four star hotel.

The service was superb, from the very helpful concierge to the car porter who shuttle you around town and to/from the air pro in a very nice town car; all complementary.

Other nice touches was the fresh brewed coffee on each floor, which was very convenient. The courtyard was so very cozy and full of flowers and sunshine. A very nice place to spend to a few minutes unwinding.

There are many hotels in Portland (mostly chains, which are very nice), but they do not compare to the Portland Harbor. Would not stay anywhere else when visiting Portland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eppyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

What a wonderful review and thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you had at our hotel.
We are indeed fortunate to have a great central location in the heart of the Old Port district for our guests to be able to enjoy all that Portland has to offer.
As Portland's only 4 Diamond Hotel, we take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations and we are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury town car service and many other amenities that we feature including our gourmet restaurant, Eve's on the Garden.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin]
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an absolute gem of a hotel. Located in Old Port, it's within walking distance to most of Portland's "must see" items. If you don't feel like walking, the hotel offers complimentary car and driver service (in a Lincoln luxury car) to most points in Portland and the surrounding area. A rental car is truly optional if you plan to stay only in Portland.

My room was small, but tastefully furnished. Street noise wasn't too much of an issue until the city maintenance department had to pump out a sewer on Fore Street at 6:00 a.m. Daily maid service starts early here (well before 9:00 a.m.) on weekdays, so this could impact your ability to sleep late.

Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was reasonably priced (for a hotel) and quite good. As with most breakfasts we experienced during our stay Maine, pancakes tend to be huge so two pancakes will probably be enough at one sitting unless you are really, really hungry.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms on the side closest to Commercial Street are the quietest. If you have to get a &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate that you note our delicious breakfast. We hope that the weather permitted you to dine outside at Eve's on the Garden.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £94 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing