We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel near Waterfront in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near Waterfront in Portland”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here after having taken the ferry from Nova Scotia. We were a group of three couples, each with a sportscar. The hotel has underground parking and they offer valet service as well. Check in went smoothly,..very friendly and helpful front desk staff.
The waterfront in Portland is wonderful, and the hotel is just two blocks away from the water, very centrally located for walking around.
The terrace and dining room are very nicely decorated. We did not eat on site, but the other couples had breakfast on the terrace, and we had a drink at the bar after we arrived.
Our room was clean and comfortable. They offer Starbucks coffee on each floor in the morning.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you all chose to stay with us as part of your extended vacation.
We agree that our location can't be beat and our guests can enjoy all the Old Port district has to offer..
We will share your positive feedback with our front desk staff and do hope you will stay with us again in the future !

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    304
    103
    57
    24
See reviews for
236
733
50
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

When I pay nearly 250 dollars a night, I expect more than what the Portland Harbor Hotels offers. We were put in a room on the first floor with a perfect view of a garden hose. It was next to the housekeeping closest so it tended to be a little loud (not too terrible). The room was always stuffy but the A/C only went to 65. I think the humidity was just because of where the room sat. The room was so small and no character. The bed comfort was adequate. There are other boutique hotels in the Portland area in a similar price range with much better rooms.

Our plan was to dine at Miyake one evening, but we were so put off by the room we decided against giving any more money to the hotel.

The housekeeping and valet staff was friendly and the room was very clean, but the rest of the staff didn't feel very welcoming.

I would sooner stay at a lessor hotel in Portland than stay here again. Especially if all the rooms are so small.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel features many rooms types, sizes and locations and we are disappointed that your room was less than acceptable. Our policy is to make every effort to ensure our guests satisfaction, even when it may be impossible to change or upgrade your room due to a full hotel.
We do hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate our typical high standards and
lovely accommodations.

Please reach out to me personally if I can be of additional assistance.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is situated in a great place close to the harbor with a staff that is super. Everyone had a smile and the front desk hostess knew my name as soon as I checked in and called me by name the entire stay. Rooms were very nice with a refrigerator. The bathroom had both a tub and a separate shower

Room Tip: King bed suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review of our hotel and staff. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized service and are glad that you experienced comfort and a warm welcome during your stay with us.

Best regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a really nice suite overlooking the courtyard. Everything about our stay was excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is just a short walk to the harbor where all the shops and restaurants are located. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again. Maine is beautiful and our stay was much too short.

Room Tip: I'm sure most people would want a view of the harbor. We had a courtyard room and that was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolv824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and will share your comments with our staff.
Our garden side rooms are most inviting we agree, and do offer a tranquil view and peaceful nights sleep.

We hope you will indeed choose us again when you return to Portland.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I've made a number of shorts visits to Portland Maine because it's a short easy flight from where I live when I just want a quick change of scenery. I 've stayed 3 times at the Portland Harbor Hotel. The staff is meticulous in taking care if your needs, it's location is excellent and the rooms are very nice. Just don't let them put you in room 214. Right outside the window is the kitchen's ventilation system and it will wake you up when it kicks in at 6 am

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review of our hotel. We are delighted that you continue choose us when you visit Portland. We do apologize that your sleep was disturbed however, and appreciate your bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to "Welcoming" you back soon !

Brenda Goodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Portland Harbor Hotel is a perfectly fine hotel, just not for the prices that they charge. We spent one night there. We could not afford to stay longer.

The hotel is on Fore Street, down near the docks (which are still working fishing docks) and within easy walking distance of the trendier areas of town. The location is excellent, and although we did not experience the noise which is remarked upon so much in other postings, we were there on a Monday night. A Friday night might have been a different story.

The hotel has valet parking. Indeed, it seemed as though we were a captive audience in that regard, and paid $18 a day for the valet parking. But the operation was smooth and efficient, and we had no problem returning to the car to retrieve forgotten items from the trunk when we needed them.

The room itself was pleasant but nothing special. It looked directly down at Warf Street, which is probably one of the noisier locations on a weekend. The bed was large and comfortable and the sheets were good quality. The biggest omission, however, was one item that you'll find in every Holiday Inn Express: bedside tables on each side of the bed. One forgets how important a bedside table is until there is no place to put a book or a glass of water or the t.v. remote. The omission was both glaring and annoying. There was a desk and a small sofa with a small coffee table (much less handy than a bedside table), along with an armoire with two small closets on either side and the usual flat-screen t.v. in the center. I discovered a small fridge in the armoire right before we left. It would have been nice to have known about earlier in our stay. The bedside clock did not light up, so it was useless at night.

The bathroom was nicely appointed, but, again, nothing special. There was a separate shower and bathtub, which is always nice, and the vanity and sink counter were generous, but the towels were comparatively small and not those of a first-rate hotel. The light in the shaving mirror didn’t work, probably because the bathroom lacked a night light and someone had used the shaving mirror for one. Interestingly, there was a t.v. speaker mounted in the wall of the bathroom. The t.v. did have a variety of music stations, so perhaps it was designed for the music. There was no t.v. in the bathroom – just a speaker.

The hotel provided morning coffee out by the elevator (there is only one elevator), which was fresh and hot in the morning, even though we woke up later. In addition, although there was a strange noise – like a malfunctioning fan - behind the bathroom wall when we arrived, it was fixed promptly and never bothered us again.

In short, the Portland Harbor was a fine hotel. It was just vastly overpriced. There was a Hyatt Place directly across the street and a Marriott Courtyard about three blocks away. I normally prefer to stay in more interesting hotels, but I’d check out the others in the area before I’d bother to go back to the Portland Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your extensive and well written review of our hotel. As a boutique style hotel in the heart of the Old Port district, our rooms are uniquely appointed and individually designed to create a warm and cozy atmosphere. I have noted your suggestion for an additional bedside table and appreciate this feedback.
With limited city parking, our valet department was created for the convenience of our guests and remains in line with public lot pricing per day with full service in a private enclosed garage with 24 hour security in place.
With many choices to stay in our beautiful seacoast city, we monitor our room rates carefully to ensure our guests receive the very best rate comparable to the product and services we offer.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose us again in the future. The slower season is quickly approaching and rates throughout out area are reduced. Also watch our web site for regular specials and packages forthcoming. We are committed to always providing the Best Available Rate when you call us.

Warm Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel has extremely poor service. From hotel check-in to food service, they fail to meet the basic requirements of a hotel that claims to be 4 star rated. In fact, they were unable to deliver room service due to the fact that they were short staffed. Additionally, they actually ran out of food and instead of an entree (which consisted of nothing more than a sandwich), they brought popcorn. There are quite a few other examples of poor service during our stay at the hotel that could be described, however, this should give you an idea.

If you are looking for service, avoid this hotel. There are plenty of new hotels near the harbor that would be a better alternative. We are checking out of the hotel today to go to a nearby hotel since service here is simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyvan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Keyvan,

Please accept my personal apologies for the any service challenges you may have experienced during your 5 night stay at our hotel. I have looked back through our many request logs, room service and shift reports to see where specifically we could have let you down.
I have also tried to reach you personally to discuss and would like the opportunity to demonstrate our typical high standards of service that keep many of our guests returning year after year.
Please contact me at anytime convenient for you.

Best Regards,

Brenda Goodwin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing