We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary celebration; romance, location, love Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary celebration; romance, location, love Portland”
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Portland Harbor Hotel is so perfectly located in the Old Port, it was easy to visit all the different spots in the area and use the hotel as our "home base" to rest and re-load. We were disappointed in the restaurant as the service for breakfast was very slow and somewhat stressed, and missing the promised corned beef hash both mornings that we were there. Outside of that, the hotel was very nice and would look forward to visting again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    308
    105
    58
    27
See reviews for
246
749
51
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2009

I love Portland, Maine's Old Port It is such a great part of the city to shop, dine, explore and have a fun and relaxing time. But when your children give you a Mother's Day present of spending an overnight stay at the lovely Portland Harbor Hotel, it just makes it that much more special.
I not only recommend this hotel, but also dining at their restaurant called Eve's. The food was delicious and service was great. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We often stay with you (check the records-if you can find them-they couldn't) and ALWAYS have a problem with our reservation. We ONLY prefer to stay in one of the 1st floor Garden rooms and are always assured of it through reservations. We NEVER get there without learning that is NOT what we were assigned. The front desk is ALWAYS incompetent and unfriendly in remedying your problem. The lack of training in the hospitality business is blatant and embarrassing and not at all what we are accustomed to. It tends to make our stay with you unpleasant whenever we arrive and puts us off for the first few hours we spend in Portland. We used to stay at the Regency, and most likely will return there in the future. There is no excuse for a bad attitude in the hospitality business. Your people do not smile or seem to be at all friendly.
Are they even trained? The dining staff, on the other hand, are helpful (even in assisting with our room) and professional, yet friendly. Maybe they should train the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkiladjian, Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2009
We appreciate honest reviews about our guest experiences. Our reservation & front desk staff is re-trained quarterly and evaluated weekly. Their reservation skills are evaluated via anonymous calls by an independent company. We absolutely understand and believe our guest 's experience begins with the first reservation call.

Our goal is to accommodate every guest’s request. In reference to the comments above, the first floor garden rooms were already occupied by other guests for several nights, making it impossible for us to ask them to leave. Therefore, we were not able to accommodate the arriving guest’s request.

Although we do take room type and location requests during the reservations with every intention of accommodating, it is impossible to accommodate multiple requests for the same 4 rooms.

Our front desk team reviews every guest request before assigning rooms to make sure we accommodate as many requests as possible. We truly regret that in this case, we were unable to fulfill the request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I travel to Portland every week for business and have stayed in the Portland Harbor Hotel for several months now. I have stayed in several other hotels in the region and found that this has the best value. The staff is exceptionally courteous, the rooms are quaint and clean and the overall experience is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorlandSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

i have to disagree with most of the reviews written. this hotel is great! my fiance and i were in from boston and had originally booked a room at the hilton garden on commercial street. we'd booked the nicest room we could get but after one night we decided to check out early and try the portland harbor. i truly couldn't sleep in the awful sheets the hilton had. they smelled like bleach and irritated my skin badly. at the portland harbor we told them it was a romantic getaway and were upgraded to a jacuzzi sweet with no extra charge. the room was lovey and the bed was amazing. excellent sheets and nice down pillows. immaculately clean and 24 hour room service with an outstanding wine list! it turned out to be an extremely romantic little trip! we are actually thinking of having our wedding in the garden next year!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank fabulous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Area
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2008

On a whim, just looking for a weekend getaway for the husband I within driving distance from Boston. Read mixed reviews here, but decided to give it a go. Dropped the kids with grandma and headed north! Drive was less taxing than expected, despite this Thanksgiving weekend.

Arrival was simple, with the GPS. The valet was a pain, but useful, despite the 16 bucks a day, plus tips. There's no real reason to have to drive the car, as pretty much everything you need is nearby. But, we went up to the Freeport Outlets (about a 20 min. drive north - pretty scenic, too). Cozy, warm, romantic day trip....not disappointed.

The room (432) was pretty large, with a couch, large water-jet tub, glass shower, separate toilet room. It was just OK. The shower seemed to leave a large puddle on the bathroom floor, which was again just a pain....the biggest issue we had, well....actually there were two: 1) heating system pretty loud....they need to handle that. 2) for the price, you'd expect a refrigerator....even a little, mini-fridge......nope.

Even despite those two issues, I would certainly recommend it. Probably wouldn't take the four children there, but he and I will definitely go back....just be sure to ask for the Garden terrace view, otherwise the nightlife (I imagine, because we had Garden terrace) seems like it could definitely be an issue come 1-2am.

A place worth the risk, considering all of the other benefits most others have written about. Bon voyage!

  • Liked — Approximity to the shops, nightlife, and restaurants
  • Disliked — loud heating system, no refrigerator.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrellisaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Wife and I went mid-October and room rate was $265/day for Fri and Sat night. Rooms appeared to be all taken for the most part and a couple we met indicated all of Portland was booked the prior week so I guess the area bookings supported the rate, which I thought was a bit high. Hotel has no "parking" per se, nor grand drive up entrance. You drive under the bldg and drop off car for valet to park in a congested pkg garage. $15/day bothered me at first but I can say we never used the car and on street parking meters appeared to be a pain so for $30 we didnt have to deal with lots, meters, damage or dings so it was worth it I guess. Free paper and coffee was better than nothing. Room was adequate - nothing special. No fridge was a shock for $265/day. Heat kicked on in evening and was loud enough to wake us up when it cycled. Bed was comfortable and 2 easy chairs pulled in front of TV was OK. We had NO noise issues at all as our room was towards the end of the hallway and not near elevators. Never heard neighboring guests nor their showers running as you often do in hotels. We were on top (4) floor. In AM, two rooms on floor had room service trays out in hallway for pickup and when we went out for dinner at 8PM, they were still there. This was after maid service turned our bed down so they walked by these trays all day - not good. Sign on dresser says if you want your linens changed, put this little sign on the bed. We didnt notice the sign until day #2 so the linens werent changed (they should leave the sign on the bed I guess so you see/read it).
We did not eat in the hotel so no comment there. Fore St Restaurant is a must (#288). Dont fook for a sign, it's real discrete. LONG, LONG waits. Get there at 5 or 6PM or you'll wait 2 hours. Standard Baking Co is excellent and below #288 with a Commercial St address. The Grill Room was also good for dinner and a wait. Gilbert's Chowder House was take-out good. We passed on DiMillo's; exterior didn't sell us enough to go in.
Victoria Mansion tour was worthwhile as was the Trolley Tour. Streets were surprisingly clean and we walked Old Port with not a concern at all about crime. We had a good time, not likely we'd spend $265 / night at PHH again.... but $165 ...sure.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bill_n_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing