We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2010

From the minute we pulled into the parking garage the service was impeccable. The front desk staff was very friendly, and the bartender was attentive and full of information. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were so comfortable! The location was perfect in respect to walking around in the Old Port. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sambuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

This was our 2nd stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. We came during Fall foliage and enjoyed drinks byt he fire in the relaxing lounge overlooking the Garden area which was lit up and had breakfast at the Eves Restrant and enjoyed dinner at the Grill Room. We cane our 2nd time for the Ice Bar Event, which was really fun and as a guest we got 2 free drink tickets and admission for 2 to the event. They had a dj, many appetizers and bars carved ice serving yummy martinis/drinks/beer and heated lamps and fire pits and everyone was friendly and had fun. Inside they also had bars set up and food/dessert stations, was a great time, but gets super crowded and should have gotten down from our room to the event earlier not to wait in line. Beds so comfortable and staff so friendly nice and always a nice time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The Old Port is my favorite area of Portland; and the Portland Harbor Hotel is my favorite hotel both in the old port and in the entire city of Portland itself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We love staying at the Portland Harbor. From the moment we are greeted to when we leave we are well taken care of by a staff of professionals. We love the big rooms, the great restaurant, the courtyard and the great location of the hotel. They are very pet friendly as we always bring our two dogs with us. We never miss the Ice Bar!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RASTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This is a relatively small, incredibly friendly hotel located in the center of Portland, Maine's historic Olde Port district....a couple of blocks from the waterfront, great restaurants & shops within blocks. Great breakfast overlooking a private courtyard. We were there for a Winter Ice Festival with ice sculptures, catered gnosh & drink....fun crowd in a classy atmosphere.
#1 positive is the quality of the entire staff and their personal attention to detail...we travel a lot & this is rare today.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This is one of my favorite hotels. It is located right in the heart of Portland and has a beautiful courtyard. It is elegant and has lots of charm. It is also very well managed and has an outstanding staff - very friendly and extremely helpful. I recommend it highly to people with taste.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineMan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The Portland Harbor Hotel is a tremendous hotel. Conveniently located in the right part of the city, within steps of the best restaurants and shopping. Great for business meetings and outstanding service. The hotel also has indoor underground parking which is great when the weather is a factor. Rooms are nicely appointed and restaurant has one of the best chefs in Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33OldNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £94 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel in Old Port. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing