We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,660)
Filter reviews
1,660 results
Traveller rating
1,053
361
142
69
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,053
361
142
69
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown cargarden viewchocolate lobsterfire pithoneymoon suiteold portcar serviceportland harborstarbucks coffeeturn down servicewharf streetvalet parkingstreet noisebeautiful hotelperfect locationluxury hotelfore street
Filter
Updating list...
1,591 - 1,596 of 1,660 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2007

PHH is in an excellent location, however this is NOT a AAA 4 star hotel. Rooms are very small, and not worth the $300 per night we were charged. Breakfast was good, but not worth $45.00 for two! Common areas are VERY dirty (dust, dead flowers), carpets and furniture worn. Front desk staff arrogant; wifi was promised but not working on arrival on Friday; told that someone would "look into it on Monday": not helpful when you need to work on line!. We specifically asked for a first floor garden room due to mobility issues (with name,date and time of their reservation agent); took more than an hour to get the room as the "only" first floor room was having the "carpet cleaned" all weekend!! Or was it saved for someone else? Go to the Regency Hotel instead....MUCH BETTER and just 2 blocks away.
Very, very disappointing. stay. AAA needs to review this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank kieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

Convenient downtown location, valet parking staff was friendly and helpful, office staff was aloof, hotel breakfast overpriced and slow, waitstaff was friendly, room was decent, heating system was noisy and difficult to regulate. Streetside room was too noisy with very intrusive late night music from nearby bars. Hotel was not a good value for the money, would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpe2bsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Good location, walking distance to the Old Port and tons of restaurants including lobster dinners!

The front desk staff was very helpful. The room was definitely very nice & clean, modern bathroom was clean as well. We stayed on the street side and it was loud since it was a Saturday night and the nightclub across the street was busy!

Waiting for the valet parking (mandatory, $15/night) wasn't bad. DELICIOUS breakfasts!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

My fiancee booked a room here for one night so we could attend an event at the Civic Center.

The room was small, but nice and clean. Bed was terrific, loved all the down comforters/pillows, etc. Bathroom, not so much...the shower had mold along the bottom...yuck.

Breakfast was very good and service was fine. Also received good recommendations from hotel staff on restaurants in the area (try Dogfish).

Very convenient, can walk to everything.

When we related the 'mold issue' to the front desk at check out we were just told 'sorry' and given a free pen.....hardly the acknowledgement we expected from a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank Monarchs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2007

Sorry we were not impressed for the price we paid. The room smelled like cigarettes, so did our blankets and robes. Both nights we found long black hairs all over our towels. We were woken up at 200 and 230 by a drunk man screaming in our hallway. The front desk didn't seem overly concerned when we voiced our complaints. Don't waste your money!

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank tanot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews