We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dogs will love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Harbor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Moxiepoodle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dogs will love this place”
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We were worried about this hotel after reading the reviews, but for the busy weekend they were the only hotel left that was dog friendly. Our room (315) were more spacious than we thought, it overlooked a cute garden courtyard. This hotel is ideally located and our dog loved being with us when we were dining. We visit many "dog friendly hotels", but many do not allow them to eat with us. The only strange thing is they didn't have a mini bar or any bottled water in the room. For the amount we paid, complimentary water is a must! Perk was free car service to the airport!

Helpful?
1 Thank Moxiepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    298
    99
    57
    24
See reviews for
224
720
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston/NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

First, let me preface by saying I worked for several years at the corporate (legal operations) level for a major hotel company with properties ranging from luxury collection to affordable chain hotels. With that experience, I tend to be quite patient and sympathetic to hotel staff and what they deal with on a daily basis. Having said that, I must say that I was a bit surprised at the quality of the hotel when we arrived. The hotel is in a great location, as many other people have indicated, shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance in this quaint city. The hotel gives a great first impression and the lobby is quite nice.

My husband checked in days earlier than me and our children, so made specific arrangements to have a room key put aside. Yet, the desk staff refused to provide the key and advised that my husband was not even a guest. Finally, she located his name but still would not provide the key despite my crying 10 month old and tired 2 year old. I finally asked if my license would be proof enough that I was the person for whom the key was set aside and she relented.

We stayed in one of the two room suites and it was roomy enough for the kids and provided us with privacy. However, the carpet was absolutely filthy. Our feet were literally black. Unfortunately, the bathroom wasn't in the best condition either. The floor and the bathtub were dirty with hair and a what I think was a soap scum/bathtub ring. There was an old gumball next to the couch and other debris behind the curtains. (We put our beach towels and and an extra blanket on the floor for the kids and moved on.

For the most part, we found the staff to be extremely pleasant and accomodating. My impression is that some front desk staff might view their position as "just a job" versus pursuing a career in the hospitality industry. The attention to detail that one might expect of a hotel with a four star distinction was just not there. For example, the photocopied directions to a Cape Elizabeth beach were wholly inaccurate, causing us to spend an extra 40 minutes in the car (not fun with toddlers who want to hit the beach). When we arrived back at the hotel that afternoon, I (nicely) let them know that the directions were wrong and were so they could be corrected for future guests.

The refridgerator they offered on the first day of our stay was delivered on the afternoon we were checking out.

My impression is that when the hotel initially opened , service, detail,and cleanliness were top notch. Often, after a few years in operation some newer hotels let things slip. I'd assume there must be some high staff turnover and the staff seemed quite young. We will be staying in the hotel often this summer as my husband is in Portland for business purposes. As such his room is paid for. I would not be able to justify paying the hotel rates if we were not being reimbursed. A nice hotel, I wouldn't classify it as luxury, but that can be turned around with some good management.

  • Liked — Great location!
  • Disliked — The rooms were dirty and staff seemed inexperienced.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

PHH is in an excellent location, however this is NOT a AAA 4 star hotel. Rooms are very small, and not worth the $300 per night we were charged. Breakfast was good, but not worth $45.00 for two! Common areas are VERY dirty (dust, dead flowers), carpets and furniture worn. Front desk staff arrogant; wifi was promised but not working on arrival on Friday; told that someone would "look into it on Monday": not helpful when you need to work on line!. We specifically asked for a first floor garden room due to mobility issues (with name,date and time of their reservation agent); took more than an hour to get the room as the "only" first floor room was having the "carpet cleaned" all weekend!! Or was it saved for someone else? Go to the Regency Hotel instead....MUCH BETTER and just 2 blocks away.
Very, very disappointing. stay. AAA needs to review this hotel again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank kieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usaroamin'
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2007

Convenient downtown location, valet parking staff was friendly and helpful, office staff was aloof, hotel breakfast overpriced and slow, waitstaff was friendly, room was decent, heating system was noisy and difficult to regulate. Streetside room was too noisy with very intrusive late night music from nearby bars. Hotel was not a good value for the money, would not stay there again.

  • Liked — downtown location
  • Disliked — late night noise from local bars
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpe2bsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Good location, walking distance to the Old Port and tons of restaurants including lobster dinners!

The front desk staff was very helpful. The room was definitely very nice & clean, modern bathroom was clean as well. We stayed on the street side and it was loud since it was a Saturday night and the nightclub across the street was busy!

Waiting for the valet parking (mandatory, $15/night) wasn't bad. DELICIOUS breakfasts!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud nightclub
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2007

My fiancee booked a room here for one night so we could attend an event at the Civic Center.

The room was small, but nice and clean. Bed was terrific, loved all the down comforters/pillows, etc. Bathroom, not so much...the shower had mold along the bottom...yuck.

Breakfast was very good and service was fine. Also received good recommendations from hotel staff on restaurants in the area (try Dogfish).

Very convenient, can walk to everything.

When we related the 'mold issue' to the front desk at check out we were just told 'sorry' and given a free pen.....hardly the acknowledgement we expected from a 4 star hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Monarchs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

Sorry we were not impressed for the price we paid. The room smelled like cigarettes, so did our blankets and robes. Both nights we found long black hairs all over our towels. We were woken up at 200 and 230 by a drunk man screaming in our hallway. The front desk didn't seem overly concerned when we voiced our complaints. Don't waste your money!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tanot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Property: Portland Harbor Hotel
Address: 468 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4029
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing