We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow; they give donut a great, quality name!”
Review of The Holy Donut

The Holy Donut
Ranked #2 of 28 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Wow; they give donut a great, quality name!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Like another reviewer said, I am glad that I don't live nearby, or I'd be enormous! Unfortunately (for me) they are carried in most of the coffee shops downtown. Sigh. Leigh, the co-owner, has opened a second location on Exchange Street in the Old Port. That is more dangerous for me as I go to that area more often than the original Park Avenue shop. The flavors are pretty much what Leigh (and the workers?) want that day. She sources the potatoes that are used in the doughnuts from Aroostook County Maine, a Maine native crop. McDonalds can get all the uniform Idaho potatoes it wants, More fore these delectable treats. The bright pink color of the Pomegranate comes from nature, not artificial food dyes. YAY!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clgmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    242
    83
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
natrona heights, pa (slightly north of pittsburgh)
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's a good thing I don't live close to this place!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I would eat way too many donuts!
The sweet potato with ginger sugar donut was heavenly. The dark chocolate sea salt as well. There are about eight more flavors I want to try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
425 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Outstanding find”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Ok so the location is central, the decor shabby chic and funky and the donuts..... outstanding. These are heavy filling and delicious. We tried the maple, old fashioned and lemon donuts and loved all of them. This is not Dunkin, this is foodie doughnut heaven :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Foodies only!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Unless you want donuts that taste like Pomegranat​e and Sweet Potato Ginger, steer clear! We were expecting donuts made with organic ingredients but instead were greeted with weird flavors and colors that looked and tasted unappealing. Unless you want weird, pick somewhere else!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank with4kidsfromvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent donut!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We had to stop here after checking out reviews on Trip Advisor. After telling the gentleman at the counter that we were from North Dakota and had never visited before, he explained all of our choices and what was most popular there. Very friendly staff.

We ended up getting the dark chocolate/sea salt donut and the donut with ginger glaze. The sea salt chocolate donut was amazing! Definitely worth a try if you are anywhere in the area. The ginger glaze was definitely unique and about what I expected...donut with an asian taste.

I will definitely stop here again if we are anywhere close!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Holy Donut also viewed

 

Been to The Holy Donut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing