We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited every day of our trip!”

Mount Desert Island Ice Cream
Ranked #8 of 22 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Description: MDI Ice Cream is hand-made artisanal ice cream, made with organic milk and cream and an attention to selection of ingredients. We aim to make flavors that are forward looking without being sensational for its own sake. Selected as a top ice cream shop from "Food and Wine."
Restaurant details
Description: MDI Ice Cream is hand-made artisanal ice cream, made with organic milk and cream and an attention to selection of ingredients. We aim to make flavors that are forward looking without being sensational for its own sake. Selected as a top ice cream shop from "Food and Wine."
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Visited every day of our trip!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend and I stumbled upon Mt. desert Ice Cream by chance on a recent visit to Portland. Heaven in a waffle cone! I recommend "Root Beer."

We returned for desert first every evening of the trip. The homemade ice cream and unique flavors were delicious, the service very friendly, the recommendations sincere, and the demeanor no nonsense.

There are a few stools and a bench if you prefer to sit to enjoy your treat. But why sit when you can wander the cute town of Portland while you binge!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tempscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    11
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place has a dazzling array of gorgeous flavors, each one more tempting than the last. I'm just sorry I was only in town for 1 day and could only visit them once!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wheresanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must taste for Portland”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I appreciate creativity in ALL forms. Creativity in ice cream is in my world, a requirement. Few ice cream shops make me swoon. MDI Ice Cream is my ice cream Holy Grail. They are happy to supply samples if you aren't sure the interesting names will add up to happiness on your tongue. The lines may be a bit long, but the service will always be cheerful. Skip dessert at dinner and stroll over here for a delightful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Interesting Flavors..”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The ice cream flavors are not your ordinary ice cream flavors. When I went, the only "normal" flavor was coffee. I sampled a few and then chose a coffee milkshake. It was just ok. It was a bit pricey for the sizes offered. This is the perfect place if you are adventurous in your ice cream flavors. If you want mint chocolate chip or toppings on your ice cream - this isn't the place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 783m783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unique flavors, tastes great!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Decided on a mid-afternoon impulse treat as we strolled by this place. It looked so good from the outside that we had to see what they had to offer. We were really impressed by the unique flavors they offered. They even let us have a few samples to see which one we wanted which was helpful. We were then blown away by the taste of the choices we made. Great ice cream and sorbet. While a bit expensive it is totally worth it as a unique treat that you can tell is made with quality ingredients. Can't wait to try more flavors!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcasacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Desert Island Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mount Desert Island Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing