We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, enjoyable, warmly received and felt like home.”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
“Relaxing, enjoyable, warmly received and felt like home.”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Buddy and his staff has wonderful service while staying at this lovely bed and breakfast. My spouse and I really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. The common area was warm, inviting, and felt like home. And oh my gosh breakfast was GREAT!

Just wanted to send out a thanks and if we find ourselves up that way
again, rest assured that we will be looking up this place to stay. Do not
think we could think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
483
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I have become wary about lodging reviews, as so many (especially in New York City) seem over-inflated, if not downright fraudulent. Not so about the Inn on Carleton. This is a lovely, romantic, quiet, perfectly maintained B&B that's a pure pleasure--to which we look forward to returning. Portland has become one of the hippest towns in America, with great restaurants and amazing architecture. Many visitors who never go beyond the waterfront neighborhood are missing very much. The Inn on Carleton is perfectly situated to take in all of Portland.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smkosofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed at The Inn on Carleton recently as part of a trip to see Riverdance in Portland. The Inn is beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. The rooms, the common areas, and especially the warm atmosphere are all first-rate. We asked Buddy for a dinner recommendation and his choice was excellent. The cookies were a great snack after returning from the show. We had a wonderful breakfast in the dining room the following morning. It was by far the best B&B experience we've ever had!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnxSueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We picked this spot for an overnight getaway and were not disappointed. This is a well-maintained, beautifully decorated inn, offering warm hospitality. It is in a nice location for exploring the city on foot. The gourmet breakfast was a real treat. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9crazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My husband and a great time here. We loved everything about it. Buddy was a wonderful host and chef. For breakfast, we had several choices and it was all delicious. He even offered seconds and thirds. Buddy was full of great suggestions for places to go and things to do. He was just beginning to make changes after buying the inn. I can't wait to return and see how it looks now. This is a great place to stay because of Buddy but also because it's close to so many places.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Carleton. Though we didn't get to meet the innkeeper because he was away, Laura took excellent care of us and made delicious breakfasts (pumpkin pancakes on day 1, and the yummiest scones I've ever had along with veggie omelets on day 2). The inn was cozy and quiet, and Laura was gracious and helpful when my husband and I were trying to figure out what to do in Portland. She even tried to make dinner reservations for us, but the restaurant, Fore Street, didn't have anything available. The inn is a bit far from Old Port, which I knew prior to booking our room, so that was fine.
The only complaint I have is that I specifically chose the room because it has a "soak tub," but the tub was soooo tiny that it wasn't even comfortable to sit in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmapp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My husband and I came up to Portland for just one night and as soon as we stepped inside the Inn on Carleton I wish I had made reservations for 2 nights instead. Buddy and his colleagues were very hospitable, the room was perfectly made, and breakfast was delicious and the perfect amount of food. We have already talked about going back this summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing