We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

First of all, Sonya was a great host. (Buddy was away for the weekend). She took care of everything, including making 2 delicious breakfasts. The room was really nice, my only "complaint" was the shower, which was really a small tub with a curtain all around. Not a lot of room to maneuver (especially since I'm 8.5 months pregnant). The bed was super comfortable, and there were 2 extra chairs in the room for sitting/lounging. Flat screen tv with a dvd player in every room, and a huge selection of DVDs to borrow. Beautiful garden out back to relax in the afternoon, and yummy snacks in the afternoon (the chocolate/caramel brownies were amazing!).

Highly recommend the Inn on Carleton for anyone going to Portland. It's a great location with great staff.

Room Tip: Room #1 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Carleton is a quiet street with nice neighbors and is within walking distance to just about everything in Portland. Room 3 was beautifully decorated with comfortable bed and separate bath that made it feel like we had a whole wing of the house to ourselves. The inn has a nice complement of period and updated details. We liked it when we stayed here six years ago under diffent innkeepers, but appreciate the updates Buddy has made, particularly to mattresses and lightened decor. Breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms are well described with accurate photos on website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The Inn On Carelton is beautiful! Buddy, the owner, is wonderful and so accomodating. Breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We loved our stay at the Inn on Carleton! The historic West End was a wonderful location near downtown, but very quiet. Buddy was a wonderful host directing us to great restaurants and sites. The Inn was all we expected and more. Beautifully decorated and clean! I especially enjoyed breakfast. Buddy is an excellent chef! Wonderful breakfast sweets and homemade granola along with omelets. We will certainly visit Portland and Buddy again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmauney64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early June. The inn is gorgeous and the beds are divine. Buddy is a very friendly and thoughtul host. He gave us great advice and directions for places to eat and things to do. The breakfasts are great - some on the best stuffed french toast I've ever had. The baked goods he sent with us for the trip home were a nice touch. We look forward to staying here again soon.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank as48109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I can't rave enough about this place. Everything soared above expectations, from the cozy sitting room to the luxurious beds to the gourmet breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer, and will plan for that next time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloadelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This Inn is a wonderful treat. Buddy was an amazing host and he went out of his way to make sure my stay was wonderful. Sonya was a perfectly charming hostess. Their hospitality alone is reason enough for this Inn to earn a #1 rating. The room was a delight and the bed was so comfortable, that I was tempted to stay all day in it. I am so glad I didn't because the breakfast was worth getting up for. It was served in a lovely dining room. Buddy made a different warmed bread pastry each morning I was there. This was followed by a gourmet special of the day, however if this was not to your liking, Buddy was more than willing to make you whatever you wanted. Homemade treats were available every afternoon and a big basket of snacks is always out and guests are welcome to serve themselves. A fridge is stocked with bottled water, so you can grab a bottle as you head out to explore Portland . The Inn is at a great location. It is very close to restaurants and shopping. You can explore all of Posrtland without ever getting back in your car. The backyard is the perfect place to sit in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickielouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Francis
The Francis
#15 of 21 in Portland
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#3 of 11 in Portland
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £100 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing