We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were planning a trip to Portland and looking to find a place to stay. We found the inn on line and loved the look of it, and it just seemed like its would be a great place to stay. I can say that it definitely was!! The room was fantastic as was the breakfast, Buddy was a terrific host, and we are anticipating our next trip to the inn!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiDiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    47
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
474
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

First of all, Sonya was a great host. (Buddy was away for the weekend). She took care of everything, including making 2 delicious breakfasts. The room was really nice, my only "complaint" was the shower, which was really a small tub with a curtain all around. Not a lot of room to maneuver (especially since I'm 8.5 months pregnant). The bed was super comfortable, and there were 2 extra chairs in the room for sitting/lounging. Flat screen tv with a dvd player in every room, and a huge selection of DVDs to borrow. Beautiful garden out back to relax in the afternoon, and yummy snacks in the afternoon (the chocolate/caramel brownies were amazing!).

Highly recommend the Inn on Carleton for anyone going to Portland. It's a great location with great staff.

Room Tip: Room #1 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotgirl_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Carleton is a quiet street with nice neighbors and is within walking distance to just about everything in Portland. Room 3 was beautifully decorated with comfortable bed and separate bath that made it feel like we had a whole wing of the house to ourselves. The inn has a nice complement of period and updated details. We liked it when we stayed here six years ago under diffent innkeepers, but appreciate the updates Buddy has made, particularly to mattresses and lightened decor. Breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms are well described with accurate photos on website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

The Inn On Carelton is beautiful! Buddy, the owner, is wonderful and so accomodating. Breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We loved our stay at the Inn on Carleton! The historic West End was a wonderful location near downtown, but very quiet. Buddy was a wonderful host directing us to great restaurants and sites. The Inn was all we expected and more. Beautifully decorated and clean! I especially enjoyed breakfast. Buddy is an excellent chef! Wonderful breakfast sweets and homemade granola along with omelets. We will certainly visit Portland and Buddy again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmauney64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early June. The inn is gorgeous and the beds are divine. Buddy is a very friendly and thoughtul host. He gave us great advice and directions for places to eat and things to do. The breakfasts are great - some on the best stuffed french toast I've ever had. The baked goods he sent with us for the trip home were a nice touch. We look forward to staying here again soon.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank as48109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I can't rave enough about this place. Everything soared above expectations, from the cozy sitting room to the luxurious beds to the gourmet breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer, and will plan for that next time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soloadelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing