We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This Inn deserves all of the superlatives lavished on it by other reviewers..We know Buddy from his previous incarnation at the Chadwick. We so enjoyed our stay with him there that we deliberately sought him out for this visit. The rooms are a little darker than those at the Chadwick but the quality of the furnishings and the superb lavish breakfasts will always make us want to return if and when we are in the Portland area. There is a facility for making tea or coffee in the dining/drawing room which is great when you return in the late afternoon after a day's sightseeing. Buddy is assisted by Cindy,the extrovert deputy innkeeper and Caroline who takes care of the cuisine and makes delicious little cakes to help the Earl Grey down at tea time. We should not forget Cindy's daughter, Heather who helps with the housekeeping and at reception. They are a great team.
,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickadeecroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    48
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
480
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We've stayed in a number of B&Bs in Portland over the past 10 years. While all were fine, none really excited until this time when we stayed at the Inn on Carleton. Nice rooms and Buddy and Cindy are great hosts. Breakfast was always delicious without being over the top. We've finally found a B&B for repeat visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a great place to stay in Portland. It's on the west side in a charming neighborhood that lets you experience Portland as locals would. Cindy is so fun to talk with and has good recommendations. Buddy's breakfasts were better than any of the restaurants we visited. A nice bonus was there were homemade cookies out every day after we toured the city. The staff are very nice and accomodating. We walked everywhere instead of renting a car. It's a 15 min. walk to the Old Port, and we chose different paths each time to see the old victorian-style homes in the neighborhood. We seemed to like the restaurants more on the west side than in Old Port, and they're closer to the inn.

Portland is a great place to visit for a long weekend. Amazing beers, great food and charming city.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mymindsonvacation247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I just stayed 2 nights at the Inn On Carleton and had a great experience. Buddy and Cindy were fabulous and the breakfasts were outstanding. One of the great thing about the breakfasts was that if you didn't like the featured breakfast you could get eggs(any style), cereal, yogurt. Great dinner recommendations, location, room - just cannot recommend this place enough. Also, it is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 - very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_be__travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Absolutely would go back. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfortable, clean and nicely appointed room, convenient location to everything downtown Portland. Buddy and Cindy just wonderful... Thank you for great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopersbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

From the minute we walked in we felt so welcome! Buddy and Cindy were so nice and went out of their way to suggest fun things for us to do during our stay. They love what they do and it shows! The breakfast was amazing, we had blueberry pancakes and fruit and the best macaroon cookie for an evening treat. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to shops and restaurants. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

The neighborhood is lovely - full of old Victorian charm. Great location for a 20 or so minute walk into town. Our room was large, warm and inviting. The bed, pillows, and shower were all up to snuff (although you can run out of hot water if you are on the same timetable as other guests). The breakfasts are over the top, scrumptious egg dishes, fresh fruit, freshly baked goods, lots of good coffee (try the pumpkin cream cheese if you can). The assistant innkeeper, Cindy, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We would definitely return the next time we are in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhgc999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing