We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The epitomie of a Bed and Breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The epitomie of a Bed and Breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The Inn on Carleton epitomizes every thing a Bed and Breakfast should be. You would be remise if you passed up the delightful experience of staying at this accommodation. The inn is centrally located and an easy walk to the center of Portland near by to restaurants, shops and several intellectual venues.
From the beautifully decorated and spacious rooms with very comfortable beds to the culinary delights served at breakfast.
Cindy is the perfect hostess in remembering your slightest desires to being a virtual encyclopedia of Portland sights, sounds and happenings.
Heather is a inspired chef with special insights to new and intriguing breakfast delights.
The Inn is located on a quaint and quiet residential street with the charm of old Portland. Plenty of parking is available for any size vehicle.
Our Thanksgiving visit was enhanced by the professional and personal touch that they provided. Our stay in room six was very comfortable and served as a suite with our own hallway and private bath.
We are senior contributors to Travel Advisor and have experience with Bed and Breakfast accommodations, this one is excellent, one of the very best we have visited this year.
Bruce and Kathy MacLeod

Room Tip: Room six was virtual a suite with your own hallway and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    48
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
480
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Had a great stay at The Inn On Carleton. The room was quiet, comfortable, private, and beautifully decorated. Had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Buddy was accomodating and helpful and a great breakfast cook. We loved our time here; it was my girlfriend's first time ever at a B&B and it could not have been a more perfect introduction to the B&B experience. Thank you Buddy, Cindy, and Heather!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acas1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a fantastic weekend! From the moment I arrived I knew this was the place for me. Buddy is so welcoming - could not imagine a more perfect host. Now I know why reviewers say Inn on Carlton sets the standard by which all others are measured.

From the chilled wine and cheese upon arrival to the eggs benedict or sweet potato pancakes for breakfast - I could not ask for more.

I will be back for sure soon!

Thanks for an awesome weekend Buddy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xflygirl042087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Another Trip Advisor recommendation we've gone with and it met all expectations! A place only gets those TA rave reviews by consistently providing the service and environment and facilities that guests want. Buddy and Cindy certainly do that! The Inn is very well run, the rooms are very good and the breakfast too. We didn't get to see Buddy much but Cindy is plenty to take in on her own! What a bright, energetic, friendly person she is! Full of enthusiasm for the Inn and Portland, she is just the right person to help Buddy run the Inn. Cindy is very down to earth and hard working so you know she will attend to business just as well as she attends to guests.

We had thought we would need to stay in a big hotel to get the best all round deal in Portland but were pleasantly surprised to find inns are better priced and of course much nicer and more personal to stay in.

The convenience in a city of having free parking next to the Inn or just across the street is great and it's only a stone's throw from the main street through Portland, Congress St. We found it a good base to walk into the city and down to the docks but also convenient for driving out of town to take a trip down the coast.

We stayed in Room 3, which was beautifully furnished and like a suite, with the bathroom along a corridor from the bedroom. It had a large window in the bathoom and a window to the backyard and one facing down the side of the house to the front in the bedroom, so nice and light. It was a little short on space to move around in the bedroom but you can't expect to have a king bed and matching furniture in a guest room in an old house like that and still swing a cat!

We would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a whole week and have nothing but amazing things to say about them. We have stayed in b&b's all over the world, and they honestly set the standard for a perfect b&b. Best breakfast and coffee in town (pumpkin muffins with pumpkin cream cheese, Apple French toast...need I say more?) Cozy and comfortable rooms. We really loved room 3 with the heavenly kingsize bed, but room 4 is wonderful too, with the clawfoot tub. Great location near fab restaurants (our favorite was Boda). Most of all, Buddy, Cindy and Heather create a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Everyone is made to feel important here. If you're going to spend your money somewhere, spend it here and support this local inn! Thank you Inn on Carleton from the Carltons in Miami!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthegomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Dear, sweet Buddy and Cindy-

My husband Shawn and I want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for giving us a great start to our honeymoon!!! We felt so cared for while we were at the Inn and already want to find a way to come back someday soon! The food was superb, the bed was so comfortable, the entire Inn felt like home, and your recommendations were so appreciated! Thank you for making our honeymoon truly memorable!!!

-Liz & Shawn

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Inn on Carleton is very up to date and well maintained property on the edge of downtown Portland. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Several good restaurants are within easy walking distance. The Innkeeper, Buddy, is very welcoming and helpful in recommending local places to see, assisting with restaurant recommendations, and making sure that your stay is extremely nice. Breakfast is made to order and is very good. We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMRCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing