We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Expemplified!”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I spent four days at the Carleton in late August. Buddy and Cindy do a fine job of creating an inviting atmosphere. The furnishings are lovely, the décor is classic, and it is a warm home to find your way back to. What is amazing too, is the walls are thick and we hardly heard a peep out of the other guests though the Inn was full the entire time we stayed there, which is unusual for a B&B. The bed was comfortable, the room was well done, and we slept well. The location is perfectly located, as it is no more than 10 minutes to get anywhere from where you might want to go via car, or walking downtown is about 15 minutes.

Cindy is definitely the heartbeat of this hotel, and orchestrates the delivery of the most delicious breakfasts we've ever had in a B&B! She is a bubbly start to your morning, full of passion for Portland and great suggestions on where to go! In addition, the piano playing during breakfast from the talented young man who lives next door is a fabulous touch! He is a gifted singer/actor and Boston Conservatory graduate, and we had the pleasure of a having an entertaining evening of "Les Miserables" performed in his Toy Theatre...an awe inspiring moment we won't forget! Ask Cindy to help you arrange your own private showing. He has many different musicals to choose from. Staying at the Inn on Carleton was the highlight of our trip to Maine; you won't find a more friendly, delicious, and entertaining spot than the Carleton!

Room Tip: We peeked into all the rooms and they were equally as well done as our room number 6. Cindy provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lscalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b757ac, Owner at Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Reviews like this make owning the Inn all worth it all. Thank you so much for the kind words on the Inn , David and of course our Cindy. I agree she is the heartbeat of the this inn. A heart of gold we tell her. Glad you enjoyed David's Piano playing at breakfast. A guest favorite. Hope to see you back at the Inn.
Warm Regards
Buddy Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carlton Inn for four nights in early September. The recommendations on Trip Advisor were right on target. This is the best B&B we've ever come across! The property itself is circa 1870, charming and immaculate. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we commented to each other several times that we couldn't believe how quiet it was. Cindy, the Assistant Innkeeper, is a bundle of positive energy and enthusiasm and gave us a number of terrific recommendations with regard to things to do and restaurants. Service from Cindy and her son, Ian, at breakfast was unsurpassed - coffee and tea cups were never allowed to go below half full and they checked in frequently to see if any needs were unmet. As for the breakfast itself, "incredible" comes to mind: Absolutely delicious, savory, large portions, and beautifully presented. Croissant french toast stuffed with strawberries and marscapone may have been the best thing we ate in 9 days in Maine (and that's saying a lot). Breakfast was beautifully enhanced by the piano stylings of David Worobec, who is a neighbor to the Inn. We got to know David a bit during our short stay and simply can't say enough about the talents of this young Boston Conservatory-trained operatic baritone. Folks, if you are traveling to Portland, don't miss the opportunity to stay at this wonderful establishment -- we may go back soon just to experience it again!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor on the Carlton Street side and had virtually no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baritone48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b757ac, Owner at Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

With the summer season so busy here in Maine reviews like this give you that great feeling of owning and running the Inn all worth it all. Could not run the inn without Cindy's cheerful and positive outlook every morning. And always a joy when David stops by in the morning and plays the piano for guests during breakfast. Again thank you so much for your kind words.
Warm Regards
Buddy Marcum .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Inn on Carleton during a trip to New England based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were very pleased with the Inn. We arrived and were enthusiastically greeted by Buddy and he helped give us an overview of the area and made restaurant suggestions. We were able to park the car off street and leave it there while we toured Portland. Take note that the waterfront is quite a few blocks from the Inn so pack comfortable walking shoes. We stayed in room #1 on the second floor. The woodwork was wonderful. The craftsmanship that went into the building is something that is lacking today. The bathroom is equipped with all the modern conveniences and the water pressure was good. The decorating in the Inn is exquisite. My wife kept hinting we should take note and apply some of the ideas at home. Breakfasts were grand with gourmet selections each morning with standard fare available if that suited your taste. Cindy made you feel at home while serving up breakfast and offered insights to Portland.You have access to hot and cold drinks 24/7 in the dining room with assorted baked treats in the evening. A fun place to stay. Keep in mind that there a quite a few steps to get into the building and up to your room but that does lend itself to the charm of the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFCantonOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This B&B was located on a lovely street surrounded by historic houses. Walk to downtown was easy but a but far. Breakfast was excellent, made to order with multiple choices. Cindy and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, which had a comfortable bed and a huge claw foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Buddy and Cindy attended to our every need - even got us a hard-to-come-by last minute dinner reservation at a wonderful restaurant. Wonderful breakfasts! Enthusiastic staff! Buddy is a visionary - a great eye for paint colors, finishes, and decor, a super chef, and a most competent and respected inn manager.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXMamaSSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

First time visiting Portland and we made our reservation based on all of the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. What a great B&B in a beautiful historic home! We were greeted by Buddy upon arrival who was friendly and carried our bags upstairs. We traveled with another couple and stayed in rooms 1 and 2. Both rooms were beautifully decorated with comfy beds, a sitting area and all the comforts of home. Excellent location and we were given maps of the city as well as great advice on what to see and do while in Portland. Downstairs in the main living room it was a great place to relax and take in the beauty of this home. Thanks for having delicious homemade snacks, water and tea always available for us and thanks for lending us the wine bottle opener so that we could take our wine on our sail boat trip. The breakfast was amazing and delicious! Cindy took excellent care of us each morning. What wonderful hosts! Only regret: wish we could have stayed a couple of days longer. If we ever travel again to Portland we will be returning to the Inn on Carleton!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank yal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived a little early for check-in and Cindy was incredibly warm and welcoming! She helped us get settled in and gave us so much useful information about what to see and do. The inn is in a lovely historic section and walking to areas of downtown are quite easy. Our rooms were comfortable and beatifully decorated. Buddy was friendly and served up excellent breakfasts each morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lablovr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#3 of 11 in Portland
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £110 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing