We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
675
60
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
60
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastry breakfast was delicious great hosts west end quiet street old port each morning electric fireplace dvd player two nights new england third floor b and b bed and breakfast within walking distance we loved our stay restaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hard to fault this place, everything about it is spot on, rooms, location food. However a small tip for Buddy & Cindy.... if they could tone down the gushing enthusiasm for us poor Brits first thing in the morning it would be appreciated... I know 'when in Rome etc', but the level of rampant happiness is a bit hard to take before you have 4 or 5 decent coffees inside you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b757ac, Owner at The Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Not for sure where to go with this review. This guest seem to have loved the Inn. However he seem to think we were a bit to friendly. I take so much pride in the Inn and I pride myself on my staff taking care of guests with a smile each morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed at many BnB's over the last few years and since w e like adventures, we usually look forward to trying new ones. Until now. Now we want to return to the Inn on Carleton over and over. Buddy has the formula for perfection down and Cindy executes it flawlessly. She is a blast to see and talk to each morning. Buddy does the cooking and is a master. What a great place not only for breakfast but as well to relax before or after traipsing around Portland. Several good restaurants nearby and all of city is within walking distance. If the weather is good, enjoy the fountains in the backyard garden with a glass of wine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Plc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Based on the reviews, we knew we would enjoy the inn but everything was absolutely wonderful. Attentive and knowledgeable innkeepers. Cindy was a delight! The rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. The inn was the perfect distance from downtown. We easily walked there but it was very quiet at the inn. Breakfast was the highlight! Delicious and plentiful. Cindy also directed us to a short walk from the inn where we could see beautiful historic buildings. We loved our stay and can't recommend the Inn on Carleton highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djhoneyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We've stayed in many B and B's and Inn on Carleton is certainly one of the very best. We were so happy to have been able to stay here recently. Old homes like this, lovingly restored and expertly decorated, are a pleasure to visit. Combine that with the excellent service from Buddy and Cindy and one becomes spoiled very quickly! They were so warm, welcoming, and helpful. I honestly don't think I have ever met an innkeeper/hostess as happy and bubbly as Cindy. Her sunny disposition cant help but make one feel fantastic! Buddy was so friendly and knowledgeable about area attractions, restaurants,etc.
Our stay was made even more fun by the fact that we stayed in 3 different rooms; not by our request but by minor scheduling issues the inn had. We were more than OK with this. We were booked in Room 4 for two nights. We found this to be the quietest room. We were in Room 6 for one night. It was definitely the largest room, but could hear folks in adjoining room and also heard typical "city" noises for a while. Things seemed to quiet down by 11PM or so. Our last night was spent in Room 2. It was a lovely room but bathroom was the smallest of,the 3 rooms. It could also use a ceiling fan. It's best feature was the very comfortable bed. Although we found a few "dust bunnies" in the rooms, they were basically very clean.
The breakfasts here were very good and served on time. We loved the coffee--delicious! It was noted that all guest requests for breakfast choices were met. We also appreciated the snacks, cookies, water available at all times.
We stayed in 3 different B and Bs during our tour of Maine and this was the best one; Cindy and Buddy made our stay so memorable. We would recommend this inn to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brodiebirdUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This B&B is great. The innkeepers Buddy and Cindy are sooo welcoming. The rooms are very nice and quiet. The breakfast was delicious and we even had live piano playing during breakfast which was amazing. Thanks for that!
The location is pretty quiet and in walking distance to downtown. There are lots of nice restaurants not far away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Karin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews