We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn On Carleton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Francis(Portland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
640
55
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
55
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastryb bbreakfast was deliciouseggs benedictgreat hostswest endold porta wonderful stayeach morningelectric fireplacetwo nightsdvd playerthird floornew englandhomemade granolaquiet neighborhoodbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Wonderful, wonderful. Good looking and nicely appointed rooms, helpful people, and outstanding breakfast. We mistakenly arrived the day before our reservations and the Inn was full as was most everywhere else. Buddy could not have been more helpful and assisted us in locating a suitable place to lay our heads. He turned what could have been a traumatic disaster into a laugh about it adventure. Would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. It is an old building and the stairs are steep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontlikenamesonwb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn on Carleton in September and can truly say it was the best place we stayed during our tour of New England. Cindy is a really special person, very welcoming and a mine of information - she worked really hard to make sure our stay was bespoke to us - recommending places to visit and where to eat. The accommodation was first class and very comfortable. Breakfast was a delight - with a special every morning which was delicious. Really is hard to fault in any way.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which is on the second floor and tucked at the back which was really comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

From the moment cindy invited us into the warmth of the Inn ... We knew that we had arrived in a very special place... The Inn was clean and welcoming and spacious ... Buddy and Cindy fill the air with graciousness and kindness ... We enjoyed a glass of wine in the beautiful garden and had quiet time in the parlor.. We will never forget our time at the Inn on Carleton... If you are looking for serenity -- stay at the Inn on Carleton..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mankato79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hard to fault this place, everything about it is spot on, rooms, location food. However a small tip for Buddy & Cindy.... if they could tone down the gushing enthusiasm for us poor Brits first thing in the morning it would be appreciated... I know 'when in Rome etc', but the level of rampant happiness is a bit hard to take before you have 4 or 5 decent coffees inside you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b757ac, Owner at Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Not for sure where to go with this review. This guest seem to have loved the Inn. However he seem to think we were a bit to friendly. I take so much pride in the Inn and I pride myself on my staff taking care of guests with a smile each morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed at many BnB's over the last few years and since w e like adventures, we usually look forward to trying new ones. Until now. Now we want to return to the Inn on Carleton over and over. Buddy has the formula for perfection down and Cindy executes it flawlessly. She is a blast to see and talk to each morning. Buddy does the cooking and is a master. What a great place not only for breakfast but as well to relax before or after traipsing around Portland. Several good restaurants nearby and all of city is within walking distance. If the weather is good, enjoy the fountains in the backyard garden with a glass of wine.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Plc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews