We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and lovely atmosphere.”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #3 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This Inn was very well kept and the owners were extremely nice. The complimentary breakfast of poached eggs on an english muffin with crab was hand crafted and delightful. Also the bread pudding was amazing! So warm and tasty. Lovely little place to go in Portland that's in walking distance of all the shops and restaurants!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legemdarylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a lovely B&B! We had just one night here in September and really liked it. Firstly, we arrived early (about 2 hours before the advertised check-in) and this was no problem at all and our room was ready and they helpfully let us check-in straight away. We were also greeted with some rather exceptional key lime pie cookies - yum yum! Our room was number four - the blue room, which was great. A really high standard of decor and tasteful furnishings, comfy bed, armchair, and large TV with DVD player. Really nice littles touches, like chocolates in the room, and attention to detail, such as the lighthouse shaped nightlight in the bathroom! Breakfast was excellent - I'm still thinking about it several weeks later! We had a wonderful orange, croissant french toast stuffed with a cream cheese frosting - and I'm not doing it justice with my poor ability to describe it! Very friendly hosts throughout our whole stay who also gave us a great restaurant recommendation. Easy 10 minute or so walk to the center of Portland too.

Room Tip: We loved room 4, but from catching glances into a few other rooms with open doors, I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I hated to leave and will surely return. The staff were like visiting the very best of family, the breakfasts were to die for and the attention to detail VERY impressive.Our room was lovely, comfortble and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bukaren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff at the Inn was so helpful and welcoming. Wonderful breakfasts and very clean,
nice accommodations. Was going to miss breakfast one day for an early balloon ride and they made us a bag of muffins and snacks to go. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms were amazing, beautiful and comfy. Just like coming home! Buddy and Cindy are the most wonderful, warm people. They helped us with recommendations for restaurants and day trips to the best of Portland. We felt like family and will miss them!!
Breakfast at the inn were the best on our two week trip. Croque Madame, stuffed french toast, blueberry pancakes with homemade syrup. What more can I say. If you are lucky enough to spend time at the Inn you can now cross it off your bucket list!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Inn on Carleton is well maintained and beautifully appointed with era appropriate furnishings. The Inn is located in a pleasant neighborhood that is walkable to most attractions and restaurants. Buddy and Cindy both provided welcoming service to include excellent concierge advice. Breakfast was sensational. Room one was comfortable and roomy with high ceilings, great mill work and an a pretty renovated bathroom.

Although attractively furnished, common space for lounging is limited. We visited in mid-September 2013 at the peak of a rare heat wave. A window air conditioner was able to keep temperature and humidity at reasonable levels within our room. The stairwells and common space were not air conditioned, further restricting our stay at the Inn to our room. Despite this situation, we look forward to a return visit to the Inn on Carleton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose the Inn on Carleton because we wanted to be able to walk to explore Portland. We stayed two days, and would have happily stayed longer. Because they were so booked, we were able to enjoy two different rooms (and they moved our luggage for us). The stairs are steep as you would expect in this vintage of house, but are fairly wide and well lit. The reasonably fit should have no trouble. The rooms are spacious and the art is wonderful contemporary pieces which should be incongruous, but due to someone's great eye, fit perfectly. There is a spacious sitting room with reading material and Portland information. Breakfast is at individual tables but there was chatting across tables meeting other guests on both days. I also liked that there is a window of times to come to breakfast (8 - 9:30 I think) and coffee was on earlier. We're early risers.

Parking is tight (literally), but as we parked our car and left it for the entire stay that didn't matter. The inn is near "downtown" but in a leafy residential neighborhood with restaurants not far.

Cindy works incredibly hard to make sure each person's experience is right for them. Her recommendations for restaurants were spot on. Breakfast both days was amazing, with choices on offer.

We liked our third floor room (#6) better as it was quieter (no footsteps overhead). But slept well both nights.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £110 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing