We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply fantastic.”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Where to being? The location? Perfect. The rooms? Lovely. The breakfast? Delicious. The staff? Likely the best I've encountered. Thank you to Cindy, Dillon, and Buddy for a wonderful stay that made it very difficult to leave snowy Portland. I look forward to future trips for both work and pleasure.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here. Loved Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
483
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The best Bed & Breakfast experience we've had,very friendly staff, charming and well tended rooms and a very good breakfast. We spent two nights in the winter, room was kept at a nice warm temperature and not drafty at all. A beautiful old brownstone with lovely wide plank floors and appropriate decor. Free wi-fi and electric fireplaces throughout, bathroom was clean and had good hot water and water pressure. Thy even put out a plate of delicious chocolate chip cookies for the guests!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Being rated the #1 B and B in Portland may have set too high an expectation in our minds for the Inn on Carleton (IOC). The #1 rating put us in mind of Inns listed in the Select Registry , some of which we've visited. The building is nice condition, comfortable, and well maintained.
There were just a few things that detracted from the overall experience. Upon opening a bifold door labeled "fire escape" the old servant's staircase was found but cluttered with painting equipment and other repair tools. This seemed a little lacking in attention to detail both from an appearance and safety perspective. The shower curtain was noticeably mildewed but not smelly. My wife and I both found the mattress on our bed gave us sore backs. This may be why we prefer a firm mattress but neither of us usually arises with a sore back from a bed different than our own. Breakfast did not rise to the level set by the books displayed in the dining room , "The Art of Breakfast" among them. A fruit cup with yogurt and granola followed by a "Croque Madam" that was good but not exciting.
We enjoyed our stay at IOC and felt we got fair value, enjoyed the Inn and were treated wonderfully by the Innkeepers. The discrepancies we noticed in some of the details seemed at odds with the # 1 Inn in Portland title.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djhedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b757ac, Owner at Inn On Carleton, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Greetings from the Inn On Carleton. We strive to make every guests stay enjoyable. My mistake on the Paint in the stairway. During the slower season we do a lot of touch up painting and that room was my next project. It was not in a guest room however behind a closed door that not many guests even notice . We pride ourselves on our breakfast and this was a guest favorite the Croque Madame that this guests did not enjoy during there visit with us. We ALWAYS have other choices. Fresh fruit, Homemade granola the entrée of the day or any eggs to order. Please just let us know so we can help you out. Sorry we did not meet up to this guests expectations . The Inn on Carleton is my pride and joy!!!!! Please let us know while you are staying with us so we can fix the issue .
Warm Regards
Buddy Marcum Innkeeper/ Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were given a gift certificate from our children for a one night stay at the Inn On Carleton, and we used it this past Saturday night. Wow, what a wonderful place to stay.

From the planning conversations on the phone, to our check in, to our stay, and the delicious breakfast the following morning, it could not have been nicer.

The people were wonderful, the accommodations were fantastic (Room 1 on the second floor), and, of course, the city of Portland is just a great place to visit.

Thanks to everyone there for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: I am not sure about any of the other rooms, but our, Room 1 on the second floor, was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzboat_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The place is so cozy and quiet my famaly loved it. Cindy the waiter was so nice and loved the kids and all that good stuff. The rooms were so warm and cozy it was awesome and one of the best places I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are likely the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiBunnyLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Inn on Carleton for our anniversary and are eager to return. The inn is spotlessly clean and perfectly situated for an easy stroll into downtown historic Portland. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely with nice furnishings. Breakfast both mornings was plentiful, homemade, and perfectly yummy. One wonderful extra is that hot tea, coffee, juice, and hot chocolate are available in the breakfast room 24 hours a day -- perfect after coming in from a chilly afternoon stroll or a warming drink after coming in at night from a delicious dinner in town. Parking is free; there is a tiny lot adjacent to the inn and a larger one just across the tree-lined street. We highly recommend a visit to this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveToTravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our 3rd time to spend New Year's Eve at the Inn on Carleton. After a night of celebrating it was great to have such a wonderful room to come back to. We stay here during the year also and have never been disappointed. The inn was beautifully decorated for the holidays. It's a great place to end one year and start the next. Our breakfast was delicious and served by the ever gracious Cindy. Jen (the chef) out did herself with the eggs benedict. I highly recommend the Inn on Carleton anytime you are in Portland, Maine.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlofthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing