We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be nicer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't be nicer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We loved the Inn on Carleton. From the public rooms to our rooms and bathrooms everything was impeccably clean. Furnishings in public rooms and our room were lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Having tea or coffee and freshly baked cookies available through out the day was a lovely touch. Buddy, the innkeeper, was welcoming and provided excellent answers to various questions we had about restaurants and where to find various things in Portland -- directions too. We would definitely stay at the Inn on Carleton again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyProvidence_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    47
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
474
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for an anniversary celebration getaway. First time in portland. The outside appearance of the inn is stunning, well kept, clean and updated but still with its old class intact. To our surprise, buddy greeted us with champagne, seemed genuinely interested in where we came from and was just incredibly friendly and accommodating. We instantly felt at home and comfortable. The inside is decked out in antique grandfather clocks, vintage floral wallpaper, beautiful wood floors, calming and warming colors, and marble fireplaces. Although the pictures are beautiful, they don't do this place justice. Our room exceeded expectations and breakfast was also fantastic. Plenty of options and you can tell they're cooking with love. Cindy was the other hostess/owner who was incredibly friendly, accommodating and once again seemed genuinely concerned about making sure everything was perfect for us. They also provided guests with nice little amenities such as fresh baked cookies and bottled water. Can't complain about anything or make any suggestions. Will absolutely come back next time in portland! Easily #1

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
433 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

A very high quality B & B. The staff provided friendly service evident from the moment we arrived and continued throughout the stay. The room we stayed in was large and well appointed. The bathroom was updated and had a large walk-in shower. The whole inn ( former sea captain's residence) was well maintained inside and out. The front parlor was charming and comfortable. A hearty breakfast was provided in the dinning room and again the friendly service was evident. Parking was provided for a limited number of cars. The location was convenient to downtown Portland. Portland itself is a vibrant place with great restaurants. Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The combination of friendly staff, spacious rooms, and delectable meals our stay was more than we could have hoped! Take the time to meet Cindy, she's a delight, and sit down for one of Buddy's amazing breakfasts. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We loved this place. Buddy & Cindy (we didn't meet the other person on the team) were extremely friendly and welcoming. The Inn is beautiful and so tastefully decorated. We slept so good we missed out on breakfast the first day, but the one we did make it for was delicious. The location is great with or without car (easy parking but lots of places nearby if you're only on foot). We would definitely come back to this Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ally1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a lovely visit to the Inn on Carleton. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served in the breakfast room. Our choices for breakfast were delicious.
There was an incredible attention to detail in both service and decor.
The location is walking distance to the art museum and restaurants.
The staff were incredibly helpful and anticipated any needs.
It was a wonderful experience. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Inn on Carleton is just excellent.
The rooms are cute and clean. The whole inn has a charming old-fashioned feel to it, but "old-fashioned" definitely does not mean "outdated." Everything was nice and in good working order.
The staff are SO friendly! They were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the quality of Room #6- it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing