We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set the standard for our future B&B experiences!”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Set the standard for our future B&B experiences!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st B&B experience and we were very pleased. The inn is historical, charming, elegant, and very well decorated; the fresh flowers throughout provided a lovely touch. Buddy, Leo, and Cindy were all excellent hosts with great ideas for our short time in Portland. Breakfasts were delicious and the Eggs Benedict could have been served at a 5-star restaurant! We loved the whole experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarmoniaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    51
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
486
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Large and gorgeous rooms, super friendly and attentive staff, a meticulously maintained property, and a wonderful and delicious breakfast. I have stayed at a lot of B&B's, but this one takes the cake! Simply perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, but all of the rooms appeared to be large and gorgeous! If you have mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed two nights, one at each end of our vacation. We stayed in room 5 and it was lovely. The room is up two flights of stairs and we had no trouble getting our luggage up to the room. The entire inn is very clean and beautifully decorated. There were lots of great little touches, including the beverages and snacks in the dining room. The breakfasts were filling and delicious! The french toast was my husband's favorite of our entire trip.

We only saw Buddy very briefly, as he was preparing breakfast. But we loved meeting Cindy and getting to chat with her. She is very welcoming and wants everyone to have a wonderful stay. We would recommend anyone visiting Portland to stay at the Inn On Carleton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Loved the house and the staff was friendly offered suggestions about the area. Nice breakfast each morning. We stayed for 2 nights. Flowers placed in living and dining area were a nice touch. Too early in the season to enjoy the garden out back but looks like a comfortable place to sit when weather is warm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a fantastic B&B. The home is clean, well-maintained, and very charming. It is within walking distance to the port area. My wife and I stayed for one evening and we plan on staying there again on our next trip to Portland. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Everything was wonderful. Buddy and Cindy are outstanding hosts. Each breakfast was delicious and they made sure we had everything we needed. Location was perfect. We could walk easily to the old port district, and we felt safe walking at night. First class service. Hope to return in the future!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amybr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just got home after a three night get away at the Inn on Carleton. This is a superb B & B...we were greeted by Buddy. He made us feel right at home immediately and helped us with luggage to our room. From that first moment on, we were treated like family. Cindy greeted us at breakfast time and "Oh, what a breakfast"! We had a delicious breakfast all three mornings with Cindy's charming personality to greet us each morning. Our rooms were magnificent, location great, hospitality exceptional....not to mention the cookies/brownies each afternoon, along with other treats, water and hot tea available all the time. What can I say....this will be a place that we definitely come back to!

Room Tip: We loved room 6....However, I have my eye on room 1 for next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mack3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing