We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
675
60
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
60
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastry breakfast was delicious great hosts west end quiet street old port each morning electric fireplace dvd player two nights new england third floor b and b bed and breakfast within walking distance we loved our stay restaurant recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

A quick unplanned few days in the Portland area was great. Staying with Leo and Patti was the icing on the cake. Located near the art museum allowed us to walk from one end of town to the other. Leo couldn't be enough help and Patti put together both beautiful and delicious breakfasts.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yummysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Wow!! Icing on the cake. A million thanks and so very pleased to have you here as guests at the Inn on Carleton in Portland. We so love our Portland Museum of Art and not just on rainy days. The exhibits change frequently and to spend a couple of hours is quite relaxing and inspiring. Walking there about five blocks from the inn and te minutes more one is in the Old Port. All you need to start your day is a hearty, yummy breakfast which we do indeed happily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Maine and our stay was even better than expected. The inn was close to everything in Portland that we wanted to do, and the breakfast was phenomenal!! Leo was so welcoming and made us feel at home. He was very helpful with suggestions on local places to check out as well. We can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank acostantino90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

First time at a new destination is always special !! Delighted that your stay here in Maine was better than expected. Maine is vacationland and here in Portland there is so much to experience. Plenty of top notch restaurants with differernt cuisines, culture venues abound and the beautiful coast with the many lighthouses a trolley ride away all here to explore. Glad that we were able help make the stay memorable. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for other future guests to read. Please do come back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The Inn on Carleton is the perfect bed and breakfast! The rooms are tastefully decorated with all the amenities you need. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels were top notch! Breakfast was a feast and one morning there was a young man playing the baby grand during breakfast. The walk to town and the waterfront was enjoyable and the restaurants in the West End were very nice. The owners were helpful and friendly. Not having to pay for parking was a real plus, too!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelSouthShore_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thrilled that you thought we are a perfect stay B&B. So appreciate your first rate review of our Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities one would need. We work hard to maintain high standards to make a most enjoyable stay. Indeed we are so fortunate to have a parking lot here in the city as well as beautiful garden for our guests to enjoy after a day of exploring whether it be strolling in the Old Port or spending time on the water. Thank you so much and come back again to do some additional activities. There is always something new and exciting happening in Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We spend two perfectly fabulous nights at the Inn on Carleton. The rooms are amazingly spacious and beautiful. The Service was beyond wonderful and I cannot even describe the lucious breakfasts that awaited us each morning.

Wish it was closer to Wisconsin, so that we could stay there more often!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful, spacious and has a very large bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edyieawalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

So happy that your stay here was fabulous. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our inn here in the West End of Portland. We do our best for all to please our guests in order to make them feel most comfortable and to take care of their requests. Making a great breakfast each morning is the fun part!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

A lovely room, in a beautiful historic house. Located near, but not in the center of town.. Excellent breakfast. The only thing that could be an issue, is one is supposed to arrive between 4 and 6, a limited window. Helpful hosts, what more is there to ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 950Mark950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Inn On Carleton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Indeed the Inn on Carleton is a historic townhouse dating back to 1869 but for all of our guests updated with all the modern amenities to enjoy. We are a six room B&B so unlike hotels with a large staff we do have a standard check in time. However with a phone call we can accomodate late arrivals. Emailing works as well. Just let us know and we are happy to do what we can. Thank you again for sharing and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews