We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B on our 11-day trip to New England”
Review of Inn On Carleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn On Carleton
Ranked #4 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best B&B on our 11-day trip to New England”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

This place is fabulous. Beautifully decorated, large room with a private bath. The staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous, except that they told us that sometimes they serve lobster benedict, and then we were disappointed not to try that! The scones were melt-in-your mouth.

Our only issue was that we were on the third floor and the stairs are EXTEMELY steep - both of us were out of breath when we got to our floor. If you have any health issues, make sure you stay on a lower floor. Because the ceilings are so high, it's a much higher climb than in a standard B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglemom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
483
30
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed at the Chadwick, the sister inn to the Carleton, for the first two nights of our stay. Tjhey were full for our last night, and Buddy said that he was in the process of purchasing the Carleton. We were expecting great things for our last night, based on the good Chadwick experience, and got them. Both Cathy and Buddy were fantastic hosts. Buddy prepared some super whoopie pies and Cathy made pecan bars for their afternoon treats....both yummy. Cathy went out of her way to make us a dinner reservation at a wonderful restaurant nearby called Caia (sp?). We loved the Carleton and would stay there again if in Portland. The West End location in a beautiful neighborhood was a real plus for us...gave us a great 30 min walk into the Old Port area while walking on their beautiful brick sidewalks. Gorgeous historic homes on the way. Thanks to both Buddy and Cathy for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We recently spent two nights at the Inn on Carleton as our first stop on our first visit to Maine for my husband's 60th birthday. The Inn is beautiful and the location perfect. Buddy and his staff bent over backwards to make our stay special, even going so far as to re-install the air conditioner in our room due to the return of warm weather. Breakfast was amazing, eggs benedict with lobster and a tomato hollandaise. Delicious along with the fresh baked scones and breads. Can't wait for the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgvarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We had a great stay at the Inn on Carlton. The location was perfect - in a quiet neighberhood near the western promenadecon - convienient to the Old Port. The Inn is a beautiful victorian brownstone, with wonderful rooms and comfortable beds. The breakfasts, which were included with the room, were great. They offered a "special" breakfast every day. One morning, we had eggs benedict with lobster souce - excellent!! My favorite breakfast was Kathy's "apple french toast" which was like an apple upside down cake spiked with cinnamon and nutmeg and topped with whipped cream - Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!! After a day touring Portand we came home to hot tea and homemade cookies and bars - also included with the room. What a wonderful place! Thank you! We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpls_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Recently my boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn on Carleton in celebration of our anniversary. The Inn keeper Buddy and his staff were absolutely wonderful to us and made us feel extremely welcome. The Inn itself is a spectacular old home with tons of character and the spaces are truly inviting. Being brand new to Portland and with no agenda in mind, Buddy made excellent suggestions for sights, food and fun. We are planning to make our stay at the Inn an annual event. Buddy and his team are terrific hosts!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srebusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We spent two nights at the Inn on Carleton and enjoyed every minute of it. The accommodations were very comfortable, and the innkeeper, Buddy, went out of his way to make our stay extremely pleasant. We happened to be his first guests since he took ownership of the inn. Even though he was very busy settling in himself, Buddy always made sure everything was perfect for us. The breakfasts he prepared each morning were delicious and first-class. Buddy is a "people" person and really takes an interest in his guests. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinksand105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on Carleton during our recent one night stay in Portland as we wrapped up our Maine vacation. I can't say enough good things about this B&B and its host Buddy Marcum. The location is great as it is on a nice quiet Portland street within walking distance of the main shopping area and harbor. The building itself is quite impressive with a grand staircase, high ceilings, and large guestrooms. Each room is decorated differently each presenting a different feel and charm. All of the electronic amenities you could ask for in a B&B are here: WiFi, flatscreen TV w/ DVD player and a large DVD collection for guests. Also, a wide variety of snacks and fresh baked goods are available round the clock along with water bottles and other drinks which we found to be an especially nice touch. Not to mention the delicious breakfast that we had in the morning. But what really sets this place apart from others is the warm hospitality you receive once you walk in the door from Buddy. He offered us a great restaurant recommendation (the kind of place the locals go for great food without tourist trap prices) and seemed genuinely interested to talk to and get to know each of his guests.

I'd highly recommend the Inn on Carleton to anyone traveling to Portland. You'll be hard pressed to find such customer service and hospitality elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Carleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Carleton

Property: Inn On Carleton
Address: 46 Carleton St, Portland, ME 04102-3226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Carleton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1869 Victorian located in Portland's historic Western Promenade. A short walk to the Portland museum of art, Maine medical, the arts district, the waterfront with shops and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Carleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Carleton Hotel Portland
Inn On Carleton Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing