We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Ranked #14 of 151 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street full of fun stores and art!
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

menu is different everyday. Food is outstanding. Make sure you make a reservation at least a week in advance!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    67
    24
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets In Portland”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A night out at Fore Street is a first-class dining experience you will remember and talk about for years to come. The atmosphere is "comfortable-sophisticated" without being pretentious. If you're looking for a romantic dining experience and a memorable night out, this is your place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank taylorplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Portland Must....When you have guests in town...”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It is what it is....Fore Street.....If you have lived in Portland for any time...you have traveled through the up's and down's of FS. The space is great....the food is OK.....sometimes Great...sometimes..whatever....It's part of the Dana Street Empire....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank slagre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fire Street is not a romantic restaurant; it's a superb place to eat. I've had several dinners at this restaurant with a friend from Manhattan who says it's better than anyplace in NYC, and I agree.

Superb steaks, great sides, top-notch service without interruptions.

Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank royatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food at a high price”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Fore Street is legend unto itself. Food is fresh, prepared well but I think they are over priced. I mean really, how can a chicken be almost $40.00?? Organic or not, that is over priced. The last time I was there their famous wood roasted mussels were so SMALL and not as good as they use to be. The place has a great atmosphere, is lively, open kitchen, well prepared food, but be prepared to spend at least $150.00 plus for 2 if you want it all.....appetizers, drinks, entree. Great for special occasions. Make reservations well in advance...two to three weeks..... if you want to go. I have been here several times but over the years I have found MANY eateries that have equally as good for less and I am not a cheap person.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing