We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Seafood with Courteous Staff”
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Ranked #14 of 146 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street full of fun stores and art!
Mayville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood with Courteous Staff”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Although you pay a premium for the food, the quality and flavor were worth it. We had each of the sides so we could taste test everything. Also did various appetizers. There was nothing we didn't like, with the staff being courteous and on the ball. The only negative is the noise. It wouldn't be a romantic setting unless you were there early or late evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    62
    24
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Atmosphere Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It is so refreshing to go to a nice upscale restaurant where the food is delicious and most importantly, the waitstaff is so friendly! We went to Fore Street for New Year's Eve. The warm and cozy atmosphere of Fore Street is a huge attraction, along with the great cocktails, extensive wine list and of course the fresh and ever-changing menu. But to me, none of that matters as much if you don't feel welcomed. The hostess was friendly, funny and made us feel like old friends, even though it was our first time there. We will certainly visit Fore Street again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmilkovits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We make a reservation and eat at Fore Street every time we go to Portland to stay overnight. The entire experience from making the reservation, to having a drink at the bar, to eating the meal is just superb. The atmosphere is unique with the ability to see the open kitchen at work from any seat in the main dining room. We ate there last week we always marvel at the fact that no matter what night of the week we go it is always busy. That busy atmosphere is part of what makes it exciting and special. The wait staff is excellent. Lance waited on us this time and he gave us the service that always makes us feel special. We recommend this restaurant frequently to our friends and we have always gotten good feedback. The mussels for an appetizer are a must. Go to Portland, stay at the Portland Regency Hotel and eat dinner at Fore Street. You won't be dissappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank owen8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The food was prepared in an open kitchen which was a different experience. We had the scollops and Arctic fish both were prepared with excellent. A bit pricey but worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

menu is different everyday. Food is outstanding. Make sure you make a reservation at least a week in advance!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing