We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,592)
Filter reviews
1,592 results
Traveller rating
1,011
451
97
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
451
97
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfront deskold portvalet parkingstandard baking companystandard bakerywithin walking distancecasco bay linescommercial streetwater viewferry terminaldowntown waterfrontvalet servicedirectly across the streetbreakfast buffetfore streetshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 1,592 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I traveled here on business and was extremely impressed with the service and location. There is a complimentary shuttle that runs to and from the airport, and the staff is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. There are great views of the water and you are in walking distance to all of the Old Port and most of downtown. You are an easy stroll or jog along the water to the Eastern Promenade, which offers a fantastic view of the surrounding islands. The rooms are spacious and it's a small enough property to where you never feel crowded even though they may be close to capacity. And if it rains (which it did the whole time I was there) just ask to borrow one of their umbrellas - a nice touch. Highly recommend when you're in Portland.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Worldtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I love this hotel! I was a little apprehensive that the hotel would be mediocre, surviving on only it's location but charging high rates - but not a real Hilton. I had no reason to be apprehensive.

Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2:00 but checki in is not until 4:00. Everyone couldn't be nicer. They gave us options: we could take bags out of the car and store them or leave them in the car and get them later. We took a few things out of our bags and changed clothes and left the bags in the car. The hotel has ONLY valet parking so we opted to valet the car. Until the room was ready, we walked around Old Port.

We had a small dog with us and the hotel is truly pet friendly. A lot of hotels say that, but then have loads of rules. This hotel does have a policy, but they do allow you to leave the dog in the room if it's crated.

The room is very nice. Two queen beds. Large window with privacy sheers and blackout curtains. Large flat screen tv. Lots of drawer space. Large closet. Comfy chair and ottoman and table. Large bathroom with plenty of counter space. It was hot outside and the A/C worked really good. Good lighting in the bathroom and also a magnified mirror. Desk and chair with good lighting. Plenty of outlets for charging devices. Coffee maker and coffee. Also fridge and microwave and some storage cabinets.

The hotel itself is immaculate. Everything was clean and new. The lobby is very nice with a lounge. We had a couple of drinks in the bar and the bartender was very friendly. He also had great knowledge of and recommendations for local restaurants.

The location is perfect. You can walk everywhere. It is right across the street from the ferry terminal. Walking distance to many excellent restaurants. Also can walk to 4th of July concert and fireworks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junebug357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

One couldn't ask for a better location across from the Ferry Terminal and close to numerous restaurants, including the spectacular Standard Bakery and Fore Street. Our room was very quiet, extremely large and immaculately clean with very comfortable beds and pillows. We appreciated having complimentary Starbucks Coffee in the lobby for our morning pick-me-up before exploring the town. We only wish the pool area had some sort of privacy shades so people walking by on the street can't stare into the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKAstier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Nice modern hotel well located downtown. We enjoyed a warm welcome from a friendly, professional team of staff. Our King room had one of the most comfortable (controllable) firm beds we have ever slept in. The bedding was also very good quality and makes a big difference to guest comfort. Breakfast was great value - home made Banana muffins were undescribably yummy. Overall, a good standard of hotel although a little on the pricey side at $300 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed two times in this hotel. It's fancy vibe and upmarket milieu at first were a bit scary for our family of 6, but be not fooled -- beyond the trimmings are a host of family-friendly and down-to-earth staff and services, and I would travel to Portland JUST to stay here, it was so good. "We are mostly first-time parents ourselves, here, so we all understand what it's like!" quipped one staff member when I commented on how accepted we felt. And that's the key. We and our children were not quietly shuffled into the worst room, told to come down to breakfast way after the show was over etc. We were given hugely spacious rooms with a view at no extra cost, children eat free at breakfast and WOW WHAT AM AMAZING BREAKFAST -- organics, fresh fruit, hot stuff made to order, lovely service ....and what the best thing was, is that everyone seemed genuinely pleased to have a family there, which if you are a mother who can be conscious of having a lot of children in demure adult places, you will know how special this was. It really felt like a holiday and nothing was too much trouble -- running yet another set of 8 plates and cutlery up to our rooms for our in-house picnics, extra towels every bath time ... you get the picture. So many places can treat families like annoying entities to put up with and move on, but if you want a place that is both hospitable, awesome and genuinely compassionate (and close to the water and Wholefoods) then you can't go past this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews