We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland, ME with your pet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Downtown waterfront location, very convenient, clean, great service, friendly and the best of all, pet friendly. There is a modest one time pet fee of $50 which covers as many nights as you stay. There are walking trails close by, a beach for the dogs. Location is directly downtown with access to many pubs and restaurants. No need to use the car. Easy walking distance to the Ferry which goes over to Peaks Island which is a great place to walk and have lunch. No car required as you can walk or rent a bicycle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clancydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

A one night stay on the way up to bar harbor provided an ideal location to valet park, throw the luggage in the roon and wander around the small waterfront area interspersed with restaurants. Hotel was ideally situated, clean with friendly staff. A good overnight choice.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I traveled here on business and was extremely impressed with the service and location. There is a complimentary shuttle that runs to and from the airport, and the staff is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. There are great views of the water and you are in walking distance to all of the Old Port and most of downtown. You are an easy stroll or jog along the water to the Eastern Promenade, which offers a fantastic view of the surrounding islands. The rooms are spacious and it's a small enough property to where you never feel crowded even though they may be close to capacity. And if it rains (which it did the whole time I was there) just ask to borrow one of their umbrellas - a nice touch. Highly recommend when you're in Portland.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Worldtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I love this hotel! I was a little apprehensive that the hotel would be mediocre, surviving on only it's location but charging high rates - but not a real Hilton. I had no reason to be apprehensive.

Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2:00 but checki in is not until 4:00. Everyone couldn't be nicer. They gave us options: we could take bags out of the car and store them or leave them in the car and get them later. We took a few things out of our bags and changed clothes and left the bags in the car. The hotel has ONLY valet parking so we opted to valet the car. Until the room was ready, we walked around Old Port.

We had a small dog with us and the hotel is truly pet friendly. A lot of hotels say that, but then have loads of rules. This hotel does have a policy, but they do allow you to leave the dog in the room if it's crated.

The room is very nice. Two queen beds. Large window with privacy sheers and blackout curtains. Large flat screen tv. Lots of drawer space. Large closet. Comfy chair and ottoman and table. Large bathroom with plenty of counter space. It was hot outside and the A/C worked really good. Good lighting in the bathroom and also a magnified mirror. Desk and chair with good lighting. Plenty of outlets for charging devices. Coffee maker and coffee. Also fridge and microwave and some storage cabinets.

The hotel itself is immaculate. Everything was clean and new. The lobby is very nice with a lounge. We had a couple of drinks in the bar and the bartender was very friendly. He also had great knowledge of and recommendations for local restaurants.

The location is perfect. You can walk everywhere. It is right across the street from the ferry terminal. Walking distance to many excellent restaurants. Also can walk to 4th of July concert and fireworks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junebug357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

One couldn't ask for a better location across from the Ferry Terminal and close to numerous restaurants, including the spectacular Standard Bakery and Fore Street. Our room was very quiet, extremely large and immaculately clean with very comfortable beds and pillows. We appreciated having complimentary Starbucks Coffee in the lobby for our morning pick-me-up before exploring the town. We only wish the pool area had some sort of privacy shades so people walking by on the street can't stare into the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKAstier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Nice modern hotel well located downtown. We enjoyed a warm welcome from a friendly, professional team of staff. Our King room had one of the most comfortable (controllable) firm beds we have ever slept in. The bedding was also very good quality and makes a big difference to guest comfort. Breakfast was great value - home made Banana muffins were undescribably yummy. Overall, a good standard of hotel although a little on the pricey side at $300 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed two times in this hotel. It's fancy vibe and upmarket milieu at first were a bit scary for our family of 6, but be not fooled -- beyond the trimmings are a host of family-friendly and down-to-earth staff and services, and I would travel to Portland JUST to stay here, it was so good. "We are mostly first-time parents ourselves, here, so we all understand what it's like!" quipped one staff member when I commented on how accepted we felt. And that's the key. We and our children were not quietly shuffled into the worst room, told to come down to breakfast way after the show was over etc. We were given hugely spacious rooms with a view at no extra cost, children eat free at breakfast and WOW WHAT AM AMAZING BREAKFAST -- organics, fresh fruit, hot stuff made to order, lovely service ....and what the best thing was, is that everyone seemed genuinely pleased to have a family there, which if you are a mother who can be conscious of having a lot of children in demure adult places, you will know how special this was. It really felt like a holiday and nothing was too much trouble -- running yet another set of 8 plates and cutlery up to our rooms for our in-house picnics, extra towels every bath time ... you get the picture. So many places can treat families like annoying entities to put up with and move on, but if you want a place that is both hospitable, awesome and genuinely compassionate (and close to the water and Wholefoods) then you can't go past this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £94 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing