We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stay here fairly regularly on business. The staff are very friendly and make every effort to provide great service. The valets often keep my car near the door for my frequent comings and goings. The location in the Old Port is perfect to enjoy shopping or the many restaurants. The bar area is comfortable and nice to return to after a long day working. Portland hotels are getting pricey for a small city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jlafleurmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had another great stay! You're right. The Portland area can be a bit expensive but that is largely due to the high demand for hotel rooms. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    419
    86
    19
    13
See reviews for
325
624
49
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed this hotel for one night. Our room was spacious (even with a motorized wheelchair) and included a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The view of the harbor and waterfront was nice. I thought the hotel was on the expensive side especially since breakfast was not included. There is no available parking so your car must be valeted. The breakfast was good and was around $15.00 each. There is a very nice bakery next door if you'd prefer that. The staff was informative and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to face the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musictchr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I were visiting my daughter, who lives about a mile from the hotel, so it was very convenient. One of the great extras, even before you check-in, is that they have a free shuttle from the Portland airport to the hotel. You can see part of the harbor right from the hotel, and you can walk to all of the shops, restaurants and sites very easily. Portland is a lovely city, and I think the best way to see it properly is to walk around.

We had a large room with two queen size beds, that overlooked a bakery. The furnishings are in good conditions, but I did find the bed a little soft. The room palate is in soft, neutral colors. The room included a large 42" set, with a reasonably good selection of HD channels.

For most of the day, hot coffee, tea and coco is provided, and in the late afternoon/early evening the staff puts outs gourmet cookies at the front desk.

As we went a little off-season, mid to late October, I thought the room was a little overpriced, but other comparable hotels in the area were charging about the same rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor--and check out Standard Baking, right next door, for great (and ine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business. I'm glad to hear that your accomidations were to your liking and that you took advantage of our complimentary cookies and coffee station. See you next time! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were very pleased from start to finish. Making the reservations was a pleasure and the hotel did an excellent job confirming our arrival. We were unable to utilize the hotel shuttle from the airport, and the hotel accommodated us by paying for a taxi since the shuttle was unavailable at that time. How great not to have to wait at the airport. We truly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the entire staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear you had such a positive experience from beginning to end. We hope to serve you again in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The restaurant has a very good location. It is beside the waterfront and harbor. The hotel is quite expensive but is worth it. Service is very good. The valet service as well is very prompt. There is no free breakfast in the hotel but there are a lot of coffee shops in the area and there is a very nice bakeshop next door.
The rooms are spacious and beddings are clean and comfortable.
The breakfast at the coffee shop is good and has a wides selection for $11.
I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for tourists since it is near the tourist spots.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladysdv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Large clean room facing Casco Bay with mini fridge and microwave. There's a Keurig machine in the room, as well, but hot coffee is always available in the lobby. There are warm cookies every evening. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and I love the fact that there is a shuttle to and from the airport so a rental car isn't necessary. Right next door to Standard Bakery and across the street from Casco Bay Lines.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you enjoyed your walks through our beautiful city. Come and visit us again! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsons, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were on a 14 day trip that included the New England area and this was my favorite hotel of the entire trip! The staff was very helpful and volunteered to send a fax for me. There was also complimentary coffee, tea and warm apple cider in the lobby. Our room was large, overlooked the harbour and we enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast. I honestly wished we could have stayed longer. I can not say enough good things about this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed your tour of New England and that our hotel was the highlight. Maybe next time you will consider staying with us for a "Tour of Portland". There are still many things left for you to see and do... and eat! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing