We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Visit to Portland, ME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canton, United States
2 reviews
“Recent Visit to Portland, ME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portland, ME. This is one of our favorite destinations and try and stay at this hotel every visit. Great location, courteous and helpful staff - great expereince as always.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Paul C.,

Thank you for the glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn on the Waterfront in Downtown Portland, Maine. We strive for excellence and always aim for top notch service. We are glad we made the mark during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    413
    86
    19
    13
See reviews for
313
608
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotels has best location for the old town of Portland and the staff was very helpful with information on eating and entertainment. it is located near all the dining locations on the bay. It was near all the tourist events, ferry's bus tours etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Thomas D.,

Thank you for the lovely comments in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn on the Waterfront in Downtown Portland, Maine. We are so happy that you found our staff helpful and knowledgable. There is a lot to see in the area, and certainly a lot of wonderful restaurants to eat at. We hope that you can make it back to the area again, and join us!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was a nice treat compared to some chain hotels. The personal service from all of the staff was of a very high standard.
The location was also extremely good as it made walking to various restaurants and along the waterfront very convenient.
The included breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear MaliaLondon,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown. We do have the best location around, and are glad you were able to enjoy the convenience and beauty of it. We look forward to you joining us again when you are back in Portland, Maine.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Really enjoyable stay! The entire staff was great from the front desk to the restaurant, and the valet parking team. They go the extra distance, and it makes a difference. The breakfast buffet was an enjoyable mix of local fare from fruits to syrups and the bakery - every morning had a different featured dish. Perfectly located in the heart of all the action downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99BizTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear 99 BizTrav,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Portland! We are so pleased to read that our staff went above and beyond for you, and that you enjoyed the local flare we have incorporated into our breakfast! We have an excellent location right on the waterfront, and we hope you can enjoy it again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is one of the nicer Garden Inns we've stayed at. The location is wonderful - practically on the water in the Old Port and close to shopping and great restaurants. The room was large, immaculately clean, and well-equipped with microwave, mini-fridge and Keurig coffee maker. Service was excellent across the board. Valet parking was quick and easy and the breakfast in the in-house restaurant, while not included, was cheap, good, and plentiful. We were here for two nights and I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators - the constant dinging is a little annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Kathie P.,

Thank you kindly for your detailed review of our hotel! We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed our beautiful location, clean rooms and delicious breakfast. We are proud of the work we do here, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to our Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Portland being your destination when you travel to Maine in the future!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is one of the nicer Hilton Garden Inn's I've visited. Room was newer, clean and well stocked with coffee service, microwave and mini refer that didn't hum all night. Staff was polite and accommodating. Breakfast service was quick and satisfactory. I was here on business so I didn't get a chance to experience too much of downtown Portland. I understand this is a fantastic location for shopping downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desederata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe next time your stay will be for leisure and you will be able to experience all that the Old Port has to offer! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My partner and I visit Portland every now and then for the last 9 years because his family lives there. So we've stayed at a few different places. This Hilton is pretty new -- just within the last 2-3 years I think -- and location-wise it couldn't be beat. Staying in the Old Port when in Portland is an absolute must. It's so charming, and you're steps away from the wharf and there are tons of restaurants, coffee shops and stores/boutiques everywhere.

Everything about our stay here was great. We reserved a basic room so we didn't get anything fancy, but even the basic room was HUGE. Modern, comfy, spacious... and the lobby also has a restaurant and bar area if you want to have friends meet you there. Another great thing was a KILLER breakfast for only $11.95/person. And I loved that you could (literally) cross the street and be on the wharf, watching the lobster boats go in and out. I also recommend taking the ferry (also right across the street) out to Peak's Island and have a walk around the island's perimeter. It's beautiful. Also of note: they have a workout room and a heated pool.

Another bonus: this hotel is right next door to the Standard Baking Company, which will become your new addiction. When we return to Maine for future family visits, this is now our default hotel. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobusWorldTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a great time and that's exactly what we like to hear! We hope to see you again next year or sooner. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing