We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
virginia beach va., United States
1 review
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

excellent facility, location and staff we needed to be near the Casco Ferry terminal which is located directly across the street from the hotel, we rode the ferry twice during our 6 day stay to view the islands and lighthouses

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Jerry A.,

Thank you for the excellent review you gave our hotel. We have the best location in Portland, being conveniently located near shops, restaurant and the ferry. We are glad we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    415
    86
    19
    13
See reviews for
320
617
49
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked two rooms for two nights and stayed on top floor(6) with rooms side by side with a beautiful view of the bay.
We got in late on Sat and we're too tired to drag the little ones out to dinner and the restaurant downstairs was able to accommodate even though they were closing in 1/2 hour.
The indoor pool was a hit with the kids especially with it being so cold outside and with the exercise room right there, everyone was happy.
They valet your car at a cost of $15.00 a day but it was worth it.
The rooms were roomy and very comfortable beds with bathrooms being very clean
The staff was very nice, from front desk, to housekeeping to valet, all and all, a very special time.

Room Tip: Ask when you check in to upgrade if you can and ask for ocean view,well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear 56Marty,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown-Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We are pleased that you found everything-from the service you received to the cleanliness of your suite-top notch. That is always our goal, and we are pleased to read that we reached that goal during your stay. I would love for you to have dinner with us next time, please email me personally so I can arrange for that during your next stay with us.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We always check for HGI's first. It's become our standard practice. There are almost never surprises; we know what to expect. However, we thought the price was steep for November! Price on hotels.com was $170 incl tax for a room with two queen beds (cheaper than rooms with one queen/king bed) & when we called the hotel directly, same room started at $170 excl tax. Great location. Another downer was they charge $15/night to park your car. SO we roamed the neighborhood until we could see if we could just find street parking. A lot of the streets had meters. But TIP: we found spots where it was 2hr. parking between 9-5PM so if you park after 4PM, you at least don't have to move it until 11AM the next morning and it is FREE! If you are on Commercial St, with your back to the hotel, these spots are 3 blocks, roughly, from the hotel (go past Crema Coffee). There's an enormous empty lot along this street too ...

The hotel gave out free blondies (usually we get hot cookies) which were great. The place has a restaurant and bar but we ate dinner at "Eventide" which will be a separate review but we LOVED it so I recommend that too.

There is a bakery next to the hotel if you want to get fresh stuff for your coffee/tea in the morning because the hotel also charges EXTRA for the breakfasts!! $11.99 approx for hot stuff (there's a chef) or $7.99 for cold buffet.

Hilton Garden Inn Portland, wise up!!!! The room was great though and the BEST bed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annarchy_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear annarchy,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay. Most of our guests really appreciate the parking arrangement we have here. There are many times when the city is sold out and parking can become difficult, so it is a relief for our guests to know there is always room for them at our hotel, and they can conveniently walk to shops and restaurant. Your tip for street parking is a good one though, and we appreciate your feedback. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for further inquiries should you (and we hope you do) join us again! april.rossignol@hilton.com

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our stay at the Hilton was lovely. Staff was informative and pleasant. Room was nice, but I can't say outstanding. The location was great for walking to the harbor, restaurants, and shops. Easy to get to. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear lorit5,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. While we are pleased and gratified to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay, we would love to know how we could have exceeded your expectations in our rooms. We hope that you will join us again, and I would be happy to help you personally with choosing a room for your next visit. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly by phone, 207-780-0780 or via email at april.rossignol@hilton.com.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We enjoyed a great end of season stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, Portland, ME. Great location right in the heart of Old Port and on the harbor. Wonderful bakery next door, and breakfast place (Crema), and local produce market right up the street. The staff was very accommodating, and beds were uniquely comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Robert B.,

Thank you for the lovely comments in regards to your stay with us here Downtown at the Hilton Garden Inn on the Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We really do have a prime location, and we are happy to read you could enjoy many of the local establishments within walking distance. We look forward to you joining us again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is very comfortable and we have come to expect certain amenities with Hilton, we got them all. The staff again were attentive and helpful. The weather was inclement, but staff made sure we had umbrellas to keep the rain off. Bathroom was very adequate and lit well. Our view was lovely with a big picture window to enjoy the view. Would recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Chris D.,

What a pleasure it was to read your glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn on the Waterfront in Downtown Portland, Maine. We are pleased you enjoyed our amazing view, and that the service you recieved was top notch. Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portland, ME. This is one of our favorite destinations and try and stay at this hotel every visit. Great location, courteous and helpful staff - great expereince as always.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Paul C.,

Thank you for the glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn on the Waterfront in Downtown Portland, Maine. We strive for excellence and always aim for top notch service. We are glad we made the mark during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing