We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveller rating
1,000
449
96
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
449
96
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfront deskold portvalet parkingstandard baking companystandard bakerywithin walking distancecasco bay linescommercial streetwater viewferry terminaldowntown waterfrontvalet servicedirectly across the streetbreakfast buffetfore streetshops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stay here mid November and it was a surprise trip. I had never been to Portland before so the location was perfect for exploring the town. It's also directly across the street from the water. We were welcomed by all staff upon arrival. Never visiting Portland before, we made many calls to the front desk for help with where to visit and eat. Each call was detailed and never rushed. They spent time with us making sure we had a fantastic experience. There always seemed to be fresh (complimentary) Starbucks available in the lobby and even sweet treats when we arrived back to the hotel at night. It rained the night we went to dinner and they were happy to lend us an umbrella for the evening. Once we checked out, the front desk suggested a few beautiful places to sightsee before heading home and even wrote down directions for us. The valet was so personable and made sure that we enjoyed our visit and left us treats in the car to enjoy on the way home. The customer service is above and beyond, the location is perfect and the rooms are large and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Marie V,

Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are so very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed not only the location, but our staff! I will be sure to share this review with the team here. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home and are very gratifed to know we reached that mark during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived with the car and used the parking of the hotel for a fee in order to avaid any problem of parking in the street.
The hotel is good with nice rooms.
As I have the gold status with Hilton we had the breakfast for free.
The staff was efficient and friendly.
We stayed just one night so we cannot judge all the services offered by the hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Rosario_it,

Thank you for the positive review! We are always pleased to have our Gold members stay with us, and we are glad you enjoyed your room. We hope that you can join us again and enjoy our in ground heated salt water pool and fitness center.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is fantastic with a great location so that you can walk everywhere. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The rooms with a kingsize bed only come with a shower but if you have a kingsize room with a sofa you have shower and bath. Use the valet parking...far easier and probably less expensive. Very good value for money in a lovely town.

Breakfasts are good with freshly cooked eggs etc. as well as the normal buffet.

We went for one night and then went back on our return journey to Boston. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

There is a good gym and small pool, both underused.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are fine and are quiet. All rooms are spacious but see review about baths / tubs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Eric R.,

Thank you for the excellent review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown/Waterfront in Portland, Maine. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the valet parking. Our valets are so friendly, and it is such a nice relief to leave your car and enjoy the convenience of walking to the shops and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Took the family with me while I ran another 1/2 marathon.
When we checked in the guy at the desk acknowledged my Hilton Honnors level but did not mention any sort of upgrade.
On the elevator ride up to the top floor my wife asked, I said NO its full here for the race.
I was wrong, we got to our very large room with a partial view of the harbor, basically room was not directly facing the harbor, but first room off front of hotel so we had excellent views of port and up the coastline
Room was very large with fold out bed, it was not the best room , but it certainly was a notch or 2 up from what I reserved.
Later in day saw desk clerk, thanked him for upgrade (it makes wife happy), his response was "it so full , we had to do something..."
Rest of visit was nice and comfortable, but not extraordinary.
Except for fellow runners the average age of guests was 75+
Used the very small but functional pool all weekend, never saw anyone else in it - I do not explore the small workout room since 13.1 miles was enough exercise for the weekend for me, when wife suggested we go for a walk to get some exercise I reminded her running 20 miles that weekend was enough for me!
Breakfast was good, nothing special but was included in room rate and tasy enough to go twice.
All hotel staff were most pleasant, especially Valet's

We will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear syBoston,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. We are happy to offer complimentary upgrades when they are available and am pleased to read that you and you wife were able to benefit from that. I am impressed to read that you ran a marathon, that is no easy task. Portland is a beautiful city to do that in. We hope you can join us again.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have not stayed in a Hilton in quite a long time. The image that I had had was that of a tired hotel chain. Quite to the contrary - the hotel was clean, well lit and well managed. Great value for the money. The fact that we were able to bring our dog was a huge bonus. Also, the hotel is within a pitching wedge of our favorite restaraunt ("Fore St") and also a fantastic bakery.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ironman1460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Ironman1460,

Thank you for the compliments! We are so glad you were pleased with your stay. We are proud to be a Hilton hotel, and are happy you found us in good working order. Our location is key, and having newer renovations makes for a excellent overall atmosphere. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews