We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,663)
Filter reviews
1,663 results
Traveller rating
1,058
468
103
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,058
468
103
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfront deskold portvalet parkingstandard bakerystandard baking companywithin walking distancecasco bay linescommercial streetferry terminalwater viewvalet servicedowntown waterfrontdirectly across the streetfore streetbreakfast buffetthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,127 - 1,132 of 1,663 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff is welcoming, though in an icy blizzard check-in was somewhat slower than normal and to be expected. The front desk staff were appropriately apologetic and offered complimentary drinks. The hotel is located across the street from a nice irish pub and next door to a fantastic bakery and very popular bistro---in all honesty this hotle is perfectly situated if you want to sample what Portland has to offer in the way of food. The room was clean and well taken care of and had a great view of the harbor. We try ot book here in early spring and mid-winter for better rates--and then enjoy the short walks to enjoy the food and music. For years we tried the B&B routs, and that can be fun and advernturous, but too many times we found ourselves feeling kind of out of place, the furnishings were worn, beds uncomfortable, walls between guest rooms that are WAY TOO thin, and breakfasts that turned out --"blah"?; and for about the same money. So we opt now for a large hotel, use it as a base, and save our advernturous spirit for eating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Duane B,

Thank you for the 5 star review that you gave us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed our clean rooms, beautiful harbor view and convenient location. We are glad that you were able to visit us in January, Portland has a lot to offer year round. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is great all around. My only issue was noise from doors, hallways and street, but I am a very light sleeper. Great service and nice hotel. It is close on all of the restaurants, so proximity is ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear CCullivan,

Thank you for a glowing review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you joining us again. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally for reservations, I would be happy to assign you to a room further away from the elevators. I can be reached at april.rossignol@hilton.com or directly at 207-780-0780.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Highly recommend this location and hotel - staff was very friendly and helpful. I was fortunate to have a view of the harbour/waterfront and was able to watch the sunset/sunrise. The bar was warm and cozy on a cold winter night, good for before and after dinner. Breakfast the next morning was a good value and even though a "buffet", there were lots of healthy options.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Laura F,

Thank you for posting your review on line! We are pleased and gratified to read that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed a 5 star view from your room and our delicious healthy breakfast buffet. We look forward to the Hilton Garden Inn being your destination the next time you are in Portland, Maine!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We really liked this place. We were thrilled with our waterview room. The view even made my teenager say WOW. The room was updated, had a couch, desk, small microwave and refrigerator. The lobby area had a serving table with coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The lobby also had a pantry with not only drinks and snacks but also frozen dinner meals. It was very comfortable and relaxing. So you know: the free airport shuttle does not operate 24 hours – ask the front desk about airport arrangements. Also, my husband and son used the lobby restroom and while inside they were asked for extra change by a panhandler. My husband told the front desk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 34678Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear 34678Love2travel,

Thank you for the detailed review that you provided in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay. Our view is fantastic, and we aim to make our accommodations as comfortable as possible. We look forward to the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront being your destination the next time you are in Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I will be writing a detailed feedback to the manager-----the total TEAM at the Portland Downtown Hilton Garden Inn were amazing: waiting in line early Christmas Eve morning(in the COLD)to get us 18 special morning muffins from the Standard Bakery, fixing our flat tire (security noticed during the night and it was changed before we even called for the car, showing my husband how to work the bagel toaster(!), and finding and keeping my special self-brought pillow that I left behind (that my son later picked up from the front desk)--- all were so wanting to be of service---- and so many staff commented that they try to keep in close communication---so that they know what's going on, even if they didn't have a direct role. They made our Christmas a SUCCESS

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Peter C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Peter C M,

Thank you for your lovely words. I am so very pleased to read that we went above and beyond during your stay. Our aim is to always exceed your expectations, and I am pleased to read that we hit the mark during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews