We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt very special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winlsow, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on Commercial Street in Portland, ME was nothing short of excellent. Every staff member made us fell welcomed and special during our stay. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to our friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jeff D,

Thank you for the positive review that you have posted on line. We are so very happy to know that our staff made you feel so welcomed. We want every guest to feel at home and we are gratified to know we hit the mark during you recent stay with us. We hope that we see you again soon!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    413
    86
    19
    13
See reviews for
313
608
48
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was OK. It was also too loud, early in the morning being so close to the water. It was convenient to all the places I wanted to visit. Everything was in walking distance. However, there was nothing special about the hotel. It had the basics and seemed clean, so I guess it met those needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Dawn M,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are always looking for ways to continuously improve, and we value your honest feedback. While it may not be the typical response we hear, it will certainly give us a chance to reevaluate what we do here on a day to day basis. I hope that you can join us again, as we have recently made some exciting changes to our breakfast buffet, adding some healthier options, and are also in the process of refreshing our wine list and dinner menu. Thank you for your thoughts.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Portland ME. Right on the waterfront, with amazing views of the harbor. We have been coming here for over 15years and the quality of the experience has been at a high level every time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you kindly for the glowing review that you posted on line. We are pleased and gratified to read how much you enjoy yourself when you stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Waterfront. Our location is certainly the best in the city. We hope that we see you again soon.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is definitely not the ideal hotel for someone looking for a quiet evening in Portland on a Saturday night. The whole place was booked up with bachelor and bachelorette parties. They were hanging out in the hallways, lobby, and bar, and you could barely get in or out of the hotel without knocking into one of them. It was loud, and packed with people who had definitely been drinking more than one cocktail each. All in all, the staff was friendly and helpful--both at the front desk and the valets--and we had a lovely room on the top floor with an excellent view. However, the place was overflowing with drunken 20-somethings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to get a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Erin C,

Thank you for the candid review of your recent stay with us. What you experienced was not typical, and we made sure to address some of the rowdiness issues that particular evening. I am sorry it didn't happen sooner. I would love for you to come back and experience a peaceful and relaxing night. Please feel free to contact me directly at april.rossignol@hilton.com for future reservations.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Very Best Hilton Hotel in their Chain of Hotels. OUTSTANDING, OUTSTANDING, OUTSTANDING Hotel! The building is always important, but the Staff make your stay something you will remember forever and the reason why you will be a returning visitor!!! OUTSTANDING does not fully express the experience! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for your kind words. Aside from our beautiful building and location, you are correct, the staff really do make the difference. From the valets, to the front desk staff, housekeeping and restaurant, all members truly want each guest to have a memorable, exciting experience. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a great little place, this Garden Inn is much better than many Hilton's we have stayed with. They have a valet, they're are overly friendly and have a cute little bar area. Our room overlooked the harbor and was as scenic as can be with the power lines that pollute so many cities. The room was spacious and the bed comfy. I would stay here again in a second.

Room Tip: higher floor, water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Audra H,

Thank you for your glowing review! We are so pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations. Our bar has a beautiful view and the valet parking is very convenient. We are glad you were able to enjoy those features as well as our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to the Hitlon Garden Inn being your destination the next time you visit Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Long time HH member and I can say that this HGI is a good value and convenient option to visit-super tiny Portland if you must stay overnight. They actually make a good egg white omelette that is not drowning in oil or butter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Javier Ander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear xavierCT75,

Thank you for your generous feedback in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown, Portland, Maine. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your egg white omelette. We have been adding some newer additional items to our breakfast buffet in an effort to please all of our guests. We hope you can stay with us again and enjoy our cooked to order oatmeal with a variety of toppings or our new sweet potato and kale hash. Safe travels.

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing